My Inner Geek - The Contradiction that is me!

in #steemit6 years ago

So, I have been a Windows/Linux/Android fanboy for as long as they have been in existence and have always avoided Apple products like they where The Plague. I have always felt like Apple products where:

  • Way overpriced
  • Outdated Hardware
  • Too restrictive (locked down)
  • Overly Simplified
  • and did I mention TOO DAMN EXPENSIVE!

So I have existed until yesterday with an Asus Gaming Laptop (running Windows 10 Pro) (that originally cost over $3,000) that I haven't even touched in almost a year since I bought an Asus Yoga Convertible (running Windows 10 Home) this time last year which is my Daily Driver (or soon will be Was my daily driver). I also have a Samsung Gear 2 Frontier Smartwatch and now (as of December 26th) the new Samsung Watch (which is a Tizen OS device). I also have a Samsung Tab 2 10" Tablet (running Android 8.0) which is (or might soon be WAS) my GPS unit in my semi. I also had the LG V35 (Android 8.1 Smartphone) until December 24th when AT&T offered me $400 trade-in towards the new LG V40 (running Android 8.1) which I now own. I also have the Blu Life One and Essential PH-1 unlocked world phones I keep in my semi for backup devices.

The issue I was facing was my Samsung Tab 2 tablet doesn't have LTE built in and so I have to use a Netgear Hotspot to have internet on it. So I went to the AT&T store (5 of them actually) looking for a new Tablet with LTE built in and everyone I went to between Chicago and East Dundee, IL where sold out of every damn tablet. Then I found an AT&T store in West Dundee that had two tablets in stock. The Motorola (Lenovo) Tab (which had the old Qualcomm 625 chipset and only 2gb Ram) and the iPad Pro 11" (2nd generation) with 256gb storage and 8 gb ram.

I had sworn I would never buy an Apple product but once I played with it, checked out the hardware specifications and compared the price of it to say the new Samsung Tab 4 (which is what I was trying to find) I realized it was cheaper, better hardware, better camera, better screen, better support, a fuck ton faster and overall a much much better tablet.

So I bought the iPad Pro (2nd Generation) running iOS 12.1 which I have no upgraded to 12.1.1 and am currently upgrading to 12.1.2. I also bought the magnetic type cover (with integrated automatically pairing keyboard) and the Apple Pencil (2nd generation) that magnetically attaches to side of the iPad and charges at the same time.

So now I own:

  • 2 - Windows 10 Laptops
  • 3 - Android Smartphones
  • 2 - Tizen OS Smartwatches
  • 1 - Apple iOS iPad Pro

To make matters worse, in only 1 day of having the iPad Pro I am already shopping around for a new MacBook Pro 15" which I have absolutely no fucking use for WHAT-SO-EVER. I am even considering getting a new iPhone 10 even though I just got the LG V40 Thinq a few days ago.....not going to get either anytime soon but I can for see in the next year or two I just might switch all my devices to Apple products. That is of course if they every release an Apple Watch with a screen like the Samsung Watch (or Samsung Gear S3) that is large enough I can read going down the road in a bouncy/vibrating ass semi truck.

But this isn't even the end of my Geekdom Gadget Obsession....oh no!

I also own:

  • 3 Drones (Yuneec Breeze 4k, DJI Mavic Pro & GoPro Karma)
  • 3 GoPro Hero 6 Black Cameras (with every accessory and mount ever made)
  • A Canon Rebel 5i Camera with 3 lenses
  • A Police Body Cam
  • 2 Spy Cameras
  • and at least two or three other cameras
  • A Garmin 7" GPS (which I don't use anymore)
  • A Raspberry Pi 3+ with a crap ton of add-ons, parts, etc.
  • A Very expensive metal detector (which is still sealed in original box) (an early christmas present to myself)
  • I also have an old Android Tablet (an Asus I think) and my mom's old Laptop) which I honestly don't even know if they work as I haven't touched either two or three years.
  • also have a Water Powered Flashlight, Solar Powered Waterproof Bluetooth Speaker (that will charge a smartphone/tablet), numerous (as in at least 5) portable Power Banks (one of which will jump start a semi truck and one that has a large foldable solar panel to recharge it) and numerous other gadgets that I can't even think of to list.

God I love being Single with no Kids and living in a semi truck that I get paid to live in - only way in hell I could afford all these toys!

DQmWZ7vNxihSXUnTjYiUkYbWzp637L835LUPmkovB6tZLwt.png

Make sure you follow me on Youtube @ VenusPCS!

DQmWZ7vNxihSXUnTjYiUkYbWzp637L835LUPmkovB6tZLwt.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by VenusPCS (The Colbert Report) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83