Sent 147 Steem to the Wrong Account! Public Service Announcement

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Merry Christmas, Steemians!

I want to start off by saying Merry Christmas!!! I don't know how many of you are on here tonight, but I had a stupid thing happen to me. I had a Power Down coming out tonight, worth 147 Steem. I went to blocktrades to transfer from Steemit to my Exodus wallet, and I must've been a little distracted, because I didn't notice that when I typed "block" into the new 'send' area in Steemit, when "blocktrades" automatically popped up, it was the first option. Well, I pressed tab instead of clicking on the name @blocktrades and it must've just stopped where I stopped typing.

Long story short, I made a big mistake and sent 147 Steem to an account that looks to be pretty much inactive. The account is called @block. What's worse is that I'm not the only person to do this today!

Here are a few screenshots to prove this whole thing:

Screen Shot 2017-12-24 at 6.41.24 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-12-24 at 6.47.39 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-12-24 at 6.47.53 PM.png

Now, I'm not looking for pity, although this sucks. This guy isn't on Steemit.chat and has only made one post, so I just left him a comment on his only post. I doubt he even comes to Steemit anymore, but I wish he would. Well, like I said, I'm not looking for pity, but I want to WARN everyone out there that this could happen to you if you're not careful. Do NOT press 'tab' when you send your Steem or SBD, actually click on the name when it pops up. You could end up losing a lot more than I did.

Well, there's my PSA for today. Enjoy Christmas people, I know I will try to!!!

Sort:  

Aww..that's terrible! Sorry this happened to you. I'm thinking it's a fairly often made mistake. I'm glad you can chuckle about it and it probably won't happen again :) Merry Christmas!

Thank you, yeah it's not the biggest deal but does stink! Definitely won't happen again to me. Don't know if I can say the same about everyone else, but hopefully this gets around!

After every loss , there is greater gain. Don’t worry, enjoy the Holdiays

Thank you, I think you'll be right :) You too, enjoy!

Hey I have done the same thing last night. To the same guy! With the new update it autopopulated. I sent 484 steem across. This has only happened with the new update as in the past I have always wrote it in manually.

I have sent a message to the page who has made one post and they are yet to respond. Steemit has also not response yet?

Hope I get my funds back as this is almost 1600 USD

Yes, I sent you a message on Steemit.chat as I noticed you had done the same. I also sent a comment to the one post that @block has made.

Yeah I was wondering this morning how in earth you knew I sent that by mistake. Then realised you had done the same. It's with this update that has made it different from any other time sending ok the steem platform. Do you think steemit can do anything as this account looks it may not be used again?

I think they can, but I doubt they would do something. You can always write to @dan on Steemit.chat. Maybe he will read it.

I have wrote to the website that is linked in the post. I will see how that roles out, but its a simple minor mistake that can be rectified by steemit. As you can see we have put the memo as the reference for blocktrades so its a genuine mistake. What stage are you at with this? Have you messaged @Dan for any help?

Even if we could get the email address for the account that would be helpfull so we could try make contact with the guy?

Sorry to hear that vegan, rough but it sounds like you are handling it well so that's good. Upvote for you, a whole $0.01. I'll resteem too, hopefully we can prevent anyone else from doing this too.

Thank you! That’s nice of you.

Oh that sucks man

Yes it does lol but hey, now I know not to do it again. Gotta burn your hand to learn not to touch the stove I guess.

Yeah well I am trying not to burn it here:) but I am just 6 days in so we will see.

Ahhh no you will do great man. I will follow you :D

Thanks alot I am pushing hard trying to learn as much as I can. I am following you aswell. Merry Christmas

Yikes, that's nasty. :l I wish I could help to do anything for you other than wishing you a merry Christmas.

<3

That's ok @sjennon, look in my history! @bittrex made me whole again!!! amazing!

Oh wow what happened there!?

They gave me 147 Steem as a Christmas present. Very nice of them!

That's amazing though. Never expected that from them!

Neither did I!

That sucks man. It’s not much but you got an upvote from me. Merry Christmas!

Thank you man, I really appreciate that. :)

Well if he/she ever does log back in to their account they will be very happy.

I hope some how you mange to get this back. Fingers crossed the person realises the value of steem and comes back next year and does the right thing

That would be nice! Look in my history. @bittrex made me whole again! Such a nice Christmas present :)

That's great news. Glad it's all sorted. Wonder if @williams858 had theirs returned?

Pity donation inbound :)

Awww thanks dude that's nice of you! Merry Christmas!

ah man thats lame thanks for letting me know tho! happy xmas bud

It's alright. Maybe that counts as a loss in my crypto capital gains ha! but yeah I'm a bit sour about it. Merry Christmas to you too from across the pond. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87