How Much Do you Expect to Earn Per Post?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Good evening, Steemians!

A thought just came to mind: "How much do I expect to earn for each one of my posts?" Of course I'm talking about posting without the help of any bots. I'm also talking about an average post, nothing too crazy and not just a single picture or anything so basic.

625908018.jpg

I think I usually have the range of $1-5 in my head, but why? Do I feel that I deserve $1-5 per post, regardless of the content? Maybe because I'm a level 60? Maybe because I've been on Steemit almost 6 months? Am I getting cocky? Nah, not cocky, but maybe comfortable.

You see, every once in a while, a whale somehow likes something I've posted and upvotes my post from around $1-5 all the way up to like $80. A single vote. Has this happened to you? I could probably count fingers on one hand (maybe 2) the amount of times that's happened to me. I instantly go into a brief moment of denial, and say something like "No fucking way!" or "Holy shit!" Then I usually yell "Baby!!!" to my wife to tell her what happened. Haha.

U5drXXamCBecmGEG4nEsDrDENioeqUx.gif

I guess I'm just curious as to what you personally expect for each one of your posts. Is there a dollar amount you think of in your head? Do you just post when you feel like it? Recently, I've just been posting when I feel like it, not like before, when I would actively look for things to post about. I think the way I post now is a bit more healthy, because it can sometimes seem insincere to go around looking for things to post about. Then again, it's a free country, or is it?

Let me know down below guys, what do you expect for each of your posts? For me, it's usually $1-5, which is what I probably do earn. Sometimes, if I've taken more time on a post, I estimate it will make $10. For me, breaking the $10 is a pretty cool thing, especially if it hasn't taken me even an hour to write a post. (Making more than minimum wage to write a post ((cool!))).

Thanks for stopping by, Steemians! Don't be shy, leave a comment, guy (or girl).

Sort:  

I'm happy to make 50 cents on a post and imagine I will be for awhile. I figure I'm going to be on social media in one way or another most likely. So if I make even 50 cents for something I would have posted on IG or Facebook anyway it's pretty cool! Of course I wouldn't mind making more per post, but I appreciate getting anything at all for posting!

This is a great way to look at it! You don't get paid anything on FB, IG or most other platforms (YouTube being an exception) but here on Steemit, anyone with a bit of talent can show it and get paid!

Exactly! And even YouTube can take awhile go build up an audience and start actually making anything.

I don't know if I have a specific dollar amount in my head when I make a post but that being said I always hope people like it and at least leave a comment. To be honest I'm actually more happy to see a comment that someone really enjoyed what I wrote than to see that I made $5. That is not to say that I'm not going to go nuts the first time a whale likes one of my posts and I see an $80 upvote.

It's a great feeling, I hope you experience it soon! :D

Ive only been on Steemit for a few weeks now so I get plum tickled when I get just a few cents. I really do believe this is going to catch on... and in a BIG way! Upvoted and following 😃👍

I think so too. I would like to see current numbers compared to a year ago of just active accounts! There used to be a page for that but it always says "Closed for maintenance" or something similar.

Tbh unless your super viral your expectations shouldn't be high lol

At this time I honestly have no expectations on my earnings since I'm still so new to this, however I always hope for the best and don't get down if it doesn't pay. My husband has had the same whale experience and let's me know every time too! That is what I probably hope for more than anything.

I FEEL YOU
I can tell you a tale, where myself I got a post with 110 dollars!! ;-) Totally over the moon and well, I could not shut up at work about it!!
Now, I am more than pleased if I get 10 dollars... more often than not I get 0.50...
Still, this is a great place to be and meet people, there is such a nice synergy here

Haha I think my highest was $180 at one point, but then Steem went down and I ended up making $130, but I was still really happy about it! I agree, I like the vibes here too!

I did a mistake once, also. I wanna share with you.
I actually transfered some Steem into Bittrex to cash out
I am NOT proud of it and now I tell all my friends to never touch your steem power!!!! in fact, I hold no steem at all, no point really, Steem Power is the Whale´s way!
Now, I EVEN promote my posts sometimes... (just one dollar)

Absolutely marcosespes1! My 7th post was 100 and I was ecstatic. Haha. Then it was just hard work to get where I am now.

The more people here the harder to get those Wales attention!!! ;-)

I had one post go up over $80 after about a week of posting. But my motivation for starting on Steemit was more about not having my good content used by FB for corporate promotions where they make all the profits and then try to package me as the product being sold. Don't want to be sold into slavery...

Question is, how do you define "whale"? With your rep I would have assumed 60+ was whale status.

Hey can't argue with that!

I figure that I'd like to make about the same each post $1-5. If one gets picked up somewhere, like my post about education last week and I make $16 on it, that's pretty amazing. I'd love for all of them to be around $10, but I don't see that happening. Thanks for some perspective. :)

As you are already aware...... the amount depends on your reputation and followers. $1- 5 sounds right for me too...... sometimes I get more but you know what? The whales haven't been swimming in the ocean much lately. I'm told that the great whale experiment is over whatever that means.

i expect to get about .75cents for each post because most of my followers are fairly low rep, but i got a nice suprise one morning when my post was up to $80 and my rep jumped straight from 46 to 50!! i was in shock i thought my eyes had gone funny

Wow that's an amazing jump!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62