How Many Total Accounts Are There on Steemit? Active Users?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

new-piktochart_17154296_79aa1365f85a03296242c5f60b398a8e2b70d28f.png

The number of Steemit users has surely been growing, so I thought I would answer the question of: How many total Steemit users are there? Also, how many are active users.

Total Number of Accounts: 171,515

Number of accounts active in past 30 days: 26,148

Number of accounts active in past 7 days: 13,295

Number of accounts active in past 24 hours: 6,269

Number of accounts active in past 12 hours: 4,805

It would seem that almost 150,000 users have up and left Steemit, since about 145,000 haven't been active in the past 30 days. My question is, why?


Cite: https://steemd.com/distribution

Sort:  

I am new here. The major problem is that this platform maybe difficult to involve as you need 3 days to create your account. Also, the contents are free to “view”. You are not required to login or leave comments. Therefore, most of the user become a silent read-only user. To overcome this problem, fast registration is a must. Just like create a Facebook account in a minute will be the best.
Money actually can encourage “creators” to create. While creativity is not well promoted in most society.

It must be free to view. Imagine you could see youtube videos only with an account. It would never grown so fast at it had. It the same mechanism that works at free to play games. You attract alot of people because its free, then if they like they will produce, watch and interact with the system.

Content should be free to view, otherwise Steemit would be losing traffic as search engines would look past indexing this platform's content. The more accessible the content one publishes, the better! As for your claims of silent users, this is not what I've seen at all. I think you should learn about SEO and social networking, as neither of your claims fit the 7 years of experience I've had on social media at all.

If people aren't engaging with you and your content, its probably because you're laying silent and not talking. The principals of social networking remain generally the same regardless of the platform you're using. If you aren't talking, then no one is listening either.

thanks for the info!! upvote for you

Steemit needs better visual design.

The answer is very simple, people gave up and left. While I first joined in 2016, I never made my first post until back in January, and after 3 months of being here, its easy to see why people find no value in this platform and simply throw in the towel.

While I really like the concept of Steemit, and the people here are generally very social and friendly, I see very little prospect of earning a living here based on what I've already seen. You can produce high quality content and never earn a dime here, its a gamble if you will, and there are no guarantees of anything.

From the perspective of being a social network, I think Steemit is great, and the blogging features are a huge plus. Even without the prospect of earning it does hold some value for its users, but people shouldn't expect to earn much of anything either.

It seems the only accounts who manage to prevail monetarily are the ones the platform explicitly chooses to upvote, and those who invested their personal money into it. If you had tens of thousands of dollars to invest in Steem Power, I could see one earning a good return on their investment, the rest wont be so lucky.

What site would you recommend to people that's of value and doesn't censor?

Hey there @vegansilverstack Did you get these numbers from https://steemd.com/distribution?
I wanted to check the updated numbers but it says the site is "down for maintenance".

Any idea how i can find them?

Yeah unfortunately the site has been down for quite a while! Not sure where else to check.

is there an updated report?

@@ -162,19 +162,20 @@
platform
+,
i
-n
+t
can rea

I agree, it’s new to me, but not a very simple site to navigate

Well, it takes an enormous effort to figure some of this out. Not everyone is like, oh gee, I'm a blogging rich man if I only write cool stuff and take neat pictures and find stock photos of puppies to post!

The learning curve is a bit difficult. Noobs need to have someone hold their hand or give them a reason to stick around.

I think people get tired when they don't get anywhere. Getting 0.01 blog after blog is probably not so fun in the long run.

Yup, I would sometimes when I would get 5 votes but didn't even earn a penny. Aloha!

i gave you one vote ,wish I can give you more.

You need to power up your account. Thats how you generate more.

Great! Let's me do that right now!

I used an xmr wallet that topped up with steem dollars then i sent it to my steem account. Then i powered up my account and now i get more

xmr is Monero, is that has anything to do with steem ?

Agreed. It's still better than Facebook though.

Much better! Hope we will be more active soon.

I am going to do my best to be in it for the long run! Making money or not, Steem feels like a great community of people and I'm looking forward to meeting lots of new peeps. Followed!

Agreed! I am following you as well! Thanks!

Yup. I agree. Lots of smart people on Steemit. Mostly, talk about Bitcoins and other coins, but still, lots of smart good posts. (people praying that they will get "upvotes")

Whatever the reason, there are lots of good posts to read.

Maybe they are on Vacation!!! or doing strange stuffs!!!! well well suspicious is coming...

hehehehheeh regards man!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3398.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50