Following to Follower Ratio - What Works Best?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

So when I first started Steemit back on May 8th, 2017, one of my goals was to follow as many people as I could right away, in the hope that people would start following me back. To my delight, this has for the most part worked out to benefit me greatly. I have had this sort of sweet spot wherein I get about half the amount of followers that I follow.

Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 4.23.28 PM.png

Now, some people really do not like having their feed bombarded with things they don't want to see. I figured the benefits of having more followers might outweigh this small disadvantage. What I've done to combat this is started a MS Word document with the names of about 20 Steemians of whom I really enjoy their content. If I didn't do this, I would probably forget to check out these people's pages for new posts, and it might cause them not to upvote my content.

So, in my experience, if you don't care about your feed page having all sorts of posts that you might not care about, and you'd rather have more followers, then go nuts.

I also know people who have like 10 people that they follow and those are the 10 people they only ever want to see posts from. I sort of get this, but I think those people are hindering themselves from gaining new followers (and upvotes). (New) Steemians more often than not just want to be noticed, and if you only follow 10 people, they might feel like there's no chance of you noticing them or their content.

Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 4.33.28 PM.png

What do you guys think? Do you have a good balance between people you follow and followers? Do you go nuts and just follow anyone? Is your feed sacred to you? Let me know, I'm interested to hear different peoples' takes on this.

Thanks!

@vegansilverstack

Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 3.05.38 PM.png

THEBESTLOGOREAL.jpg

Sort:  

If I find an interesting post from a steemian I am not already following I start to follow. This let to a little bit more followers than people I am following...
Most importantly are definitely the interactive followers ;)

I follow some people just for that one article they might post that I can really connect to that I might otherwise miss. We all have our goto topics but there might be another future topic that will really add something :)

I have been thinking about this lately. I am new here and I don't know yet who to follow but surely I will only follow people whose posts are valuable. I don't why I am here but maybe because of the technology that steemit is using. I have many ideas to share here in the future. Right now I am busy working and building my own website. Therefore, I decided to follow people whose interest is similar to mine.

In my first 2 weeks I did exactly that, just follow people...but now that I see posts in an Asian language that I can't read, I started to unfollow some. Now I look at someones blog first, to see if I'd appreciate their posts.
It's like my home, I don't invite everyone in there either, only those I do like.

Good explanation. I did the same, I can't read Korean lol

We have 2 choice by my opinion. First one is to follow only blogs in themes which we are interested in, in return we get only followers who like our content. This is slow way but you will get quality followers, I guess... Second choice is to follow everyone who want to follow you and return follow so speed up process, but you can get less quality followers... Most likely the truth is somewhere between.

Very nice thank you for your comment. I agree with you.

I have a 400+ to 100 ratio which I think is good on my end . I follow the people I'm interested in reading posts from

I would agree, you have a good ratio :)

I'm brand new to this and I'd like to say this is a really good point you have made. I have been trying to follow people from the silver community because this is my main interest. I think the whole point of steemit is community you want people who have an interest in your subject choice and can interact in your blog. I'd go for quality over quantity any day.

It is a social media follow get followed, its the best way

Right. And we just hope that within the multitude of followers, there are quality ones who will help you out in commenting upvoting and resteeming like @abh12345 was mentioning up there.

Good idea just followed @abh12345

I have these same issues on Instagram, I understand the reason of following less people in regards to the algorithm trying to sort out who's important and who's not. But honestly I like to follow like minded people and I always think it's a little unfair that if you want to grow you sometimes have to unfollow.

It's kind of a fine line, isn't it?

I actually look at a lot of your posts. Just hope I'm on your MS Word document LOL.

Thank you for that. You are NOW!

Reading your posts I believe were on if not the same page very similar pages.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63537.51
ETH 3405.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55