You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I did it! I bought my first steem and powered up... Is it wrong to upvote my own content?

in #steemit7 years ago

How about the argument that self-upvoting is a form of interest payment for holding the currency? I guess it could be seen as an effective incentive for bootstrapping the adoption of a new currency.

Sort:  

Sure, I guess so. It's free to upvote yourself after all. The problem comes in when you have users that have so much influence then can just effectively put themselves on the trending page. If your post somehow shows up their, your visibility level skyrockets and it's payday for you. It's the whole cutting in line thing when you can afford to bribe the bouncer that is so unfair to everyone. I could convert my crypto and get a bunch of steem power, but it just feels morally wrong to me so I don't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63