Quantum computers, the future of mining crypto?

in #steemit7 years ago

The future of computers


image

I recently saw an article on quantum computers which sparked some interest In me.

It wasn't related towards cryptocurrency, but the way the computers are built allows them to handle everything beyond normal.

Google and NASA found out that the D wave 2 system (which is a quantum PC) outperformed existing supercomputers by more than 3,600 times and a personal computer by 100 MILLION times.

D wave is the company which is currently renting out and selling quantum Pc's. Google NASA and other majour companies are using them.

What about crypto?


So with the aforementioned my interest was automatically aligned towards farming crypto currency.
As I see a lot of people are investing in Genesis mining, renting out computing power, so I asked myself, what happens if you decide to invest a lot of money in a quantum computer ? Let's have a look.


To begin with, the D-Wave 2 is somewhat the size of a normal room, so you'd have to actually sacrifice a whole room to fit it in.

But hey, with the amount of money you'd have to spend for the PC itself compared to the price of a room that would be nothing.


image


Here is a small overview of what the roomsize computer offers.


image


image


image


So, you might ask "What's the price?", well one of these room sized monsters will cost you 15,000,000 USD.

Is it a good idea? You'd have to ask Google or any other multi billion dollar company.


@vangelov

Sort:  

Screen Shot 2017-05-30 at 12.41.00 PM.png
I can't wrap my mind around this...

i could see this being implemented.

Great post
Your doing great works
Keep it up dear

I really hope not... I like the accessibility of mining right now, able to jump in and jump out of whichever currency that interests me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52