Sort:  

I like what you have provided so far. I am not so optimistic that society will be entirely rational at some far flung point in the future, nor am I sure it should be (love for example is rarely rational at the beginning), though I would agree that the governance model should be. The role technology plays is definitely intriguing, and with the monopolists and governments hoarding beneficial technologies (at least, I am pretty sure they are) that could resolve a great deal of conflict, I am concerned they would rather see the world burn than lose control of it, and the world here should perhaps, as you suggest, be considered their beneficial interest. Will keep reading as it comes, thanks for the heads up!

You make a good point that there is a difference between a rational society, and a rational framework for social interactions. I take a long view, and given certain technological developments underway (Neuralink and geriatrics) I do expect that reason, as necessarily colored by our humanity, will at least be the dominant factor in society.

By definition, less reasonable societies will be less competitive. The rise of the West during the age of exploration exemplifies this, as the drive to eradicate competing cultures, while inhumane, was certainly undertaken for reasons by the conquerors. The dominance of the West was enabled by technological superiority, in turn driven by rational science.

It also shows that your concern regarding the propensity of conquerors (or would be conquerors) to destroy that which they cannot control is well placed. This is why transitions are so bloody, and it is certainly possible that delaying the transition is possible, and we can find plenty of examples that show this.

All the more reason to harden Steemit against such manipulations, and better weaponize it against those megalomaniacal conquerors, speeding it's seminal genesis of a post market economy.

Damn! These comments are with the rEsteem!

Imgur

This is a very accurate quote!

Wow, some of your big words slowed me down but I muddled through.

It never had a chance of permanence.

My inclination for a while now has been to be ready and waiting on deck at my lifeboat station for the time when the USS Titandenburg slips under the waves in a gigantic fireball.

Odd as this may sound, your use of The Onion article gives me a warm fuzzy feeling, I'm not the only one who thought that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.69
ETH 2375.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31