You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's To Become Of Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago

This is part of the solution to the problem OP is having. From time to time I note something I cannot abide from someone I followed and I have to unfollow them. This has aided in my ability to control my feed, although there's no doubt I could be more ruthless. I tend to be tolerant of human foibles, and my feed reflects this.

I hope OP does this, as he seems to be less enamored with Steemit of late, and I'd hate to lose his presence in my feed if he gives up.

Thanks!

Sort:  

I echo what you say about losing @richq11. It would be a tragedy.

You might be better off being a little more ruthless @valued-customer. To paraphrase Gordon Geko in the film Wall Street:-

Ruthlessness is right. Ruthlessness works. Ruthlessness clarifies, cuts through, and captures the essence of the Steemit spirit.

With regard to follows anyway. Enjoy the rest of your day. :-)

One of the reasons I am not ruthless, is that I have a healthy regard for my own fallibility. I want to hear voices I don't agree with. I want to be criticized. When I am wrong I want to be set straight, and that won't happen in an echo chamber. I cannot predict which direction the next useful revelation might come from, so I try to seek some diversity in my feed.

That being said, I limit my feed to at least thoughtful voices. While I may miss some revelation of my own fallability, I can only see so much, and expect to gain epiphanies from folks at least giving things thought, rather than just following their programming.

Thanks!

I totally agree with you. Diversity within ones feed is a great thing to have. However, I wasn't referring to posters who may post things we are not in agreement with (for example I am in a healthy discussion with some people who views I do not share at all) but rather those who only post the 'you follow me and I'll follow you' comments without even referring to the post or those accounts which are totally bogus and only post plagiarised material. Be ruthless with removing those from your feed as they degrade the whole platform.

I could not more strongly agree!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64789.68
ETH 3498.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40