You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does It Really Matter How People Make Money on Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago

I will note that there are parties with external financial incentives to distort speech, and these parties engage in practices, like buying Reddit accounts, to manipulate the platform.

This may also be something that impacts Steemit. It should not be allowed to, unless you feel that Steemit should not be a platform for free speech.

I just realized that Steemit is designed to be a platform for paid speech, and this is antithetical to free speech. I will further consider that before commenting further, but to state that this will impact the community and the platform, particularly in a time where England has just proposed a drastic and utterly unworkable censorship law.

Countries are enacting laws against free speech, to greater and lesser degrees, surveillance is chilling free speech, propaganda is distorting free speech in order to distort political power. These are problems I seek, personally, to solve, and reasons why I came to Steemit.

I hope this is food for thought for others. It is for me.

Sort:  

Unfortunately, government intrusion will always be a problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56