Steemit Wallets Suspended?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

steemit paused
As most of you may know, creating a steemit wallet isn’t the simplest thing in the universe. After seeing steemit for the first time, you should have seen how crazy I went. I was already hyped on the crypto currency from starting way back in 2014, but now… that craziness has squared.

My friend finally gave in, and I was going to make an account for them, however, I see that on both platforms I own accounts in, Binance and Poloniex, both have suspended wallets!

poloniex

binance

So I looked more into this, and I believe this similar event has happened to other crypto in the past, I just wasn’t aware of it because I wasn’t actively moving those alt coins at the time. Less than a month ago, Cardano had this same problem, and someone on the development team recorded a video. His answer starts at around 2:50, for those of you that are interested:

So from my understanding, Steem is going through some changes in their code right now, and they are NOT pausing Steemit due to the dip in the price recently.

According to this post, a commentator (@ashaman) mentioned that there is going to be a hard fork, so it’s most likely that the platforms are informed and are preparing for that fork.

Nobody panic. Steem is hardforking in 35 minutes. Poloniex disabled deposits in preparation for the hardfork. In all likelihood, they have already upgraded their witness_node, and are currently testing the new version to make sure no bugs in relation to their backend were introduced. Deposits and withdraws of XMR also get disabled in anticipation of a scheduled hardfork, and are reenabled after - since a hardfork carries a risk of a chainsplit (however small), to avoid the (however unlikely) possibility of double spends exchanges will disabled deposits/withdrawals of a coin when it is forking. Steem and SBD are also disabled with OpenLedger right now. Just sit tight, everything should be back to normal in a few hours.

Needless to say, my friend is now very relieved, as he thought the beta key giveaways for this website was over or something. As if it will ever end; long live Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56542.34
ETH 2391.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30