You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What went wrong for Tsū - any lessons to be learnt for steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago

I got the impression that the team that ran Tsu were kind of elitist and in many ways thought in ways that are counter to the basic essence of social connection.

Sort:  

Describes me to a T lol! It did have a elitist faction but the little guys were there too. tsu was an awesome place and I'm glad I stumbled in for it's short existence.

Most social networks reflect society and since society has elitist groups it is no surprise that they are there too. What makes the difference though is the intent of the ones making the decisions about the network as a whole 'from the top'. The guys who run steemit, for example, appear to demonstrate an absence of elitism that I respect and that makes a huge difference to the potential of the platform.

Well, the money here is concentrated in the top .01% of steemers and the minnows are 98% of everyone, so I'm not sure of that. This is one of the challenges I feel needs to be addressed in some way.

i am referring to the actual creators of the technology as opposed to the whales that invested to make it possible economically. i agree that the system could be designed to support minnow more, but it is also important to consider that without the investment from the whales there would be no steemit at all. in that sense, any elitism can be said to originate in wider society and not from steemit per se.
tsu, on the other hand appeared to actively promote elitism - whereas the ethos behind steemit is allegedly anarchism (with a small a).

So you think the big guys should sit out as the little try to succeed? I think about 1/4 of them are actively reaching down and I appreciate this very much. I think if some are just laying off and pulling their money out - fine - I get that. If they are too busy with technical duties ok - we need that.

But if the others want the place to succeed? Then what? Hopefully they dump funds in places like minnowbooster if they can't be bothered with the riff raff :)

anarchists don't usually control the money supply. This is a new paradigm. It's starting off in a very interesting manner. I'm thrilled to be watching as an accountant. Before steemit I was not paying attention to crypto so this has been worth the whole adventure no matter what I make blogging here.

I don't think anyone should sit out, I am just saying that in an ideal world there would not be such financial inequality and so the power in steemit would be more balanced. Steemit does include some mechanisms in it's algorithms to facilitate wealth distribution but it isn't likely to achieve that on it's own in the world.
Technically, I don't accept that anarcho-capitalism is a valid idea since capitalism automatically creates hierarchy and thus in some senses also 'rulers' - but at least it's a step away from the types of heavily controlled capitalism that have a hand in so many of Earth's problems.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66932.02
ETH 3099.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74