You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does Steemit Support Oligarchy More Than Anarchism? Does Real Anarchy Lead to World Peace? How WIll Steemit Evolve?

in #steemit7 years ago

Whether a religious group agrees with me or not is irrelevant to whether or not what I am saying contains religion. Neither I, nor my words are aligned with any particular religion and there is no religion on Earth that agrees with what I know to be correct now.
If a religious group says that a day is 24 hours long, I will not claim that you are being religious if you say the same ;)

Sort:  

Sure, but your claim is still religious and should be treated as such.....

I am not going to go around in circles with you. We disagree.

This is a powerful sub-thread, actually.
I THINK (please correct me if I'm wrong, @ura-soul ) that you place your non-verbal experience as of the same value TO YOU as all the human tools of structured verbal experience of science, math, political science, sociology, etc.- book- and school-learned tools.
I THINK @andrewmarkmusic is claiming this is not a valid equivalence TO HIM and should be qualified in such a way, that the verbal tools have some primacy as the ultimate determinants of meaning in any discussion.
If my understanding of this is correct, "a wink's as good as a nod, nudge, nudge".

Hey, tvulgaris, happy to be of amusement:) I won't speak for ura-soul who I have no quarrel with; but yes, definitely some quibbles!
To me, there are multiple issues here such as the materialist/idealist dispute; the subjective/objective dichotomy, and a general honesty one can have when asserting complex and intractable issues, not the least of which is whether consciousness precedes matter; and whether the teleological argument has any veracity...To me, it's all problematic.
I'm a modernist through and through so I value empiricism and scientific epistemology, but I also have to consider a lifetime of personal 'spiritual' experiences. So, practically it makes me sympathetic​ to atheist worldviews while personally being quite open to alternative non-materialist cosmologies. Having said that, I again think we need to be honest in what we are espousing and it seems to me ura-soul is espousing neo-Advaita Vedanta​....That is Hinduism and it asserts consciousness precedes matter! A claim I'd be quite happy about but one I can't endorse fully considering my respect and conditioning by modernity. Again, I consider myself an *Agnostic Gnostic, or at least that is one of my core leanings.....Wilberian Post-metaphysics is another influence but I've spent​ a long time disputing the veracity of Ken's idiosyncratic spiritual arrogance.

  • this paradox could be the result of aperspectival cognition, see Gebser.....