YouTube blocking my videos...

in #steemit5 years ago

Man, it feels so strange - writing about how to avoid geo-blocks all the time and creating YouTube videos about it... and now I ended up having some of my videos geo-blocked myself!

So far, I have received three emails from YouTube about videos being blocked on the platform. Well, to be honest, one were blocked in its entirety, while two were geo-blocked, meaning that they were unable to access in certain countries.

What is the problem?

I published one video on how to watch NBC outside the United States. In the video, I guess I included a few seconds from an actual NBC show (showing that the method described works). Since NBC Universal has the rights to all their content, they decide to block the video, simply because it contained a few seconds of material from one of their shows. Of course, the main objection was the actual content of the video, and the way to get rid of it was referring to the few seconds of material included.

In the same way, a video I created about watching the Handmaid's Tale online was blocked (immediately, all across the world).

The Blacklist on Netflix - a popular clip that went down


The most interesting, however, was how my video on how to watch The Blacklist season 6 on Netflix was blocked. This was a popular video with more than 40,000 views. One day, I was told that it was blocked in the United States (and a few more countries). But, as I checked it yesterday, it was blocked all across the world (as it seemed to me). I am not really sure, so I would love to hear if it is blocked at your current location... Want to check it out? You can find it here.

Since this video has been blocked worldwide (I think), I decided to create a new one. But, this time I watched out not to include any second of actual showtime. In that way, I have no copyrighted material included in the video at all, and thus, hopefully, it will not be blocked and limited by YouTube.

I guess I have learned a lesson... it is better not to include any single copyrighted material in such videos at all. In other videos I create about what's coming to Netflix, what's coming to HBO Now and so on, it doesn't really seem to matter. But, in videos with content that the TV networks do not like, I guess I better keep that kind of material far away.

If you have any thoughts or comments, write a comment and let me know whatever might be on your heart!

Sort:  

That's what happens in a centralized world. They can just decide to block or erase something because they felt the need to. Well, I don't upload videos on YouTube, I'd have proffered a solution. Sorry about that. You can write to them about it. They can be contacted, right?

This post has received a 10.67 % upvote from @boomerang.

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58