30 Day Writing Challenge #3 -What’s The Best Thing That Happened To You Because Of Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago

Welcome to day 3 of the #challenge30days initiated by @dragosroua. If you want to participate, just keep an eye on his feed, and write about the same subject as him for the current challenge day. 

Today's question is:

What’s The Best Thing That Happened To You Because Of Steemit?

The answer is as simple as it is sweet. I got to quit my day job at Zon@IT. If you're familiar with Romanian tech sites, you probably know it. I worked there for around 2 years, and I've got to say that I was a bit miserable, which really showed in my work, as it got sloppy and utterly disinterested at times. I just couldn't stomach writing about a new phone, or trying to explain a new memory technology, knowing it would fall on deaf ears. I started working there out of necessity, can't say that I'm not grateful, Zon@IT helped me through some difficult times, but it wasn't really for me. It honestly made me hate writing news, which is where I started 10 years ago. The volume I had to keep up, especially when I was sick, posting up to 14 articles a day, Monday to Saturday, was just wrong, and covering tech events was just too much for me. But, especially with the recent increase in the cost of medical expenses, I needed that job. 

Steemit freed me from that. I didn't have to get up at 6AM and summon the energy to dredge through the news and then spend several hours trying to come up with something interesting to write about, and then start working on GamingHD videos, and then see if I can do something with the book that day. I was free. I could work whenever I wanted to. I could work a lot on Monday, take it easy on Tuesdays... never got the hang of Thursdays, honestly. That freedom, that ability to not care that I misspelled something in an article here is unbelievable... sure, I try not to do it, but it happens. 

Without Steemit, I'd still be there in the daily grind. Leaving was the best thing that could have happened to me, and it was all because of Steemit. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70