[Request] Adding Steemit Avatar Functionality

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

So @williambanks had a wonderful idea and find to an API that generates Avatars based on an ID (which can be anything).

All you have to do is change the id=tyler-fletcher to your username and change gender as appropriate.

Example URL: http://eightbitavatar.herokuapp.com/?id=tyler-fletcher&s=male&size=400

He created an issue on Github already and it should be fairly simple to implement if you know React. 

I tested this out already in my chrome browser and it looks awesome!


Full Resolution Image

If no one tackles this within a day or so, I should hopefully have a steemit.com branch locally ready to be modified and I will try to tackle it.


Will you like this update?

Sort:  

OMG so much awesome!

Instructions on how to do this in your own posts are now in the latest update...
https://steemit.com/steemit/@williambanks/8bit-avatar-this-is-fun-and-brilliant

Thank you so much for sharing this! I'll be resteeming it, also upvoted and following you now!

You're very welcome! I followed you and upvoted/resteemed your post as well!

Of course I will like this update @tyler-fletcher!
I would be great if it will be implemented.

Of course I will! I thin avatars are an amazing way to distinguish your posts among the crowd

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37