While listing all steemit account names I found someone on steemit with 300+ bots!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

So I am in the middle of creating another steem tool and I was using SteemJS when I ran across a "Lookup Accounts" function. I curiously found myself, and then my wife. I left out the name parameter and up'd the search limit to 55000 (Since there are now 54358 steemit account as of writing this). To my surprise I got an array back... with all 54358 user names!

While I did find many funny usernames like @a-cat-named-joe, I also found a lot of "similar" accounts, like @a10inchcock , @a12inchcock , @a13inchcock , @a14inchcock , etc. and while still hilarious, it could be a potential issue...

So I scrolled, and scrolled... and found what appears to be close to 300 bots (Presumably owned by the same person)

See items 25-52 above

See items 53-81 above

See items 82-99 above

...and it keeps going and going until about item 300 incrementing the prefix "a1i" to "a2i" and "a3i"!

Im not certain that these are bots, but its definitely tainting the "Total Accounts" number on steemit. 

Does anyone else think this is or could be an issue? Let me know what you think!


#steemit #flsteem #steem-help #steemjs

Sort:  

Multiple bot accounts, very possible I guess.

Bots for sure and in 2 years they will be worth millions

Actually I checked a few of the accounts and they were all "New Accounts". They all had 3.xxx steam power.
For you to be able to Power Down you must have a minimum of 300 Steam Power (or 10x the starting amount) I believe, so It would take forever for enough interest to generate from a base account to be able to Power Down and collect the money. I'm not really sure of what the purpose of them would be other than mining or to use as bots later.

Good catch. I wish the bot-makers well in trying to game a system that can hard-fork when the stakeholders deem it necessary!

Do you have a copy of all steemit users u could send me?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75