Building a Cycling Community on Steemit!

in #steemit6 years ago

A conversation between @mrprofessor and I on Discord is the reason for this post.


Source: Michael Gaida/ Pixabay

We both are cyclists and want to find all the other cyclists on Steemit and build a healthy cycling community out here, who help and support each other. That is easier said than done though. We can use tags like #cycling #cycling4steemit #mtb etc. to try picking them out of the woodwork.

There are a couple of challenges that I forsee in doing that:

  • There is no standardised tag. Members use a variety of tags and therefore difficult to find 'em all.

  • You either use a bot to do the hard work, else manually you spend a lot of time.

So instead of searching for the critters in the dark, we do the opposite. We attract the moths towards the light. And there is one thing which gets peoples attention. Money or steem in this part of the virtual world. Where there is an opportunity to earn steem/ sbd, there will be people interested. And to do that, we need to hold a competition/ challenge etc.

That cycling challenge is what will get people together.

Hadn't this been done before!

Yes.

@Holm and @thankyoubicycle have attempted doing this before. The former is on a cycle trip across the globe. The latter has grown silent over the last couple of months.

Therein lies another challenge:

An individual cannot a community make! We need a small team of regular Steem cyclists who are willing to give a bit of time and energy to help this grow.

If one person is unavailable for any reason others are there to pick up the slack. So the wheels (the both of them!) roll as smoothly as that of your bike.

We need cyclists who can pitch in with their various skills off the bike as well. Be it writing, technical knowledge of bikes, technical knowledge of Steem, steem power and well you get the drift... You are smart, you ride a bike!

We can have weekly challenges like:

  • The maximum distance ridden in a week (strava will be the monitor)
  • Weekly climbing challenge
  • Best photo clicked with your bike
  • etc.

This is just a rough initial list, we can think up a storm when required!

I am tagging all the cyclists on my followers list. I sincerely apologise in advance if you feel that you are being spammed. This tag isn't in the hope of an upvote, but a discussion on promoting cycling out here. Your comment will be valued more than any upvote. Thanks!

Before I start the tagging spree I must first thank @robmolecule, he is currently the only person I have seen who is actively promoting cycling posts of members out here.

@glennolua @ultrabiker @piotr42 @alexbeyman @browery @captaincanary @annabanananz @danielveazey @erikaflynn @jasui @jctdesign @dejan.vuckovic @marc02mpg @miniinthecity @mollyparti @nofatnowhip @insaddle @numbnut68 @sina-adventure @sjsbikes @stortebeker @vesytz @bezean @japalekhin @jeremiahsvaren @nosb @PregoRoll @riverdance @wilkostrongly

If you find this interesting, please tag any cyclist friend of yours in the comments. Thanks :)


Source: Antranias/ Pixabay

Sort:  

Great initiative!
Add me to the group @santigs

Great to meet another cyclist. Cheers :)

Oh! I love this idea!! I'm down!

Sounds great. I am interested in helping with the effort...and I just resteemed to help spread the word.

That is awesome. So you have a Discord account? If not, please make one, will be easier to start off the initial discussion there. Thanks :)

Yes, I am jctdesign#0073 on Discord. I just sent you a friend request. Hopefully we can get a good group together there.

Definitely interested! In the matter of fact this idea has been going around in my head for a while now :) Would you guys be available on discord for a group conversation any time soon ? :)

Ha. Great minds think alike :p

Yes we have been having the discussion up until now on Steemit Travellers Discord channel for cycling. We could either continue with that or make a cycling specific one, depends on what the majority of interested people decide

Excelent idea! I think you forget or didn't seen @gural0000 challange #bike100kkm, here is link to starting post and summary from seventh week currently he is doing 2 weeks bike trip from Szczecin to Kalisz along polish west border from Szczecin to Kalisz.
And I see that you misspelt one guy @jasiu.

Yes, hadn't seen it. Thanks for pointing it out and the spelling error :)

Are you on Discord? We can continue the discussion there

yes I am on Discord? Is there any cycling group? my Discord tag #7476, please send my invitation to discord group. TIA

Hey @twowheeledmonkey Sounds great. Count me in.

Gaz

Yes please, count me in!

add @aktivsoul as well

Thanks for tagging more people :)

I love this idea! I can put time toward this. I have a discord account, so I could try to chat sometime. I've never really used before though.

I was counting on you :D

Yup, we are currently discussing it on Discord. On the Steemit Travellers channel for cycling. You can join in there!

Did I miss the discord invitation in your post? :-)

Yup, because it's there in the comments :D Added later!

Rob! There are some amazing ideas going on that I'd like to share with you, if you find a little time hop on Discord - Steemit Travellers.

How do I find you on there? Is there a link to a server I'm supposed to use? I'm sorry but I don't understand how Discord works.

No worries, you can click on the banner, it'll direct you to the Steemit Travellers.

There you'll be able to talk on the Welcom channel, then I'll give you access

OK. I think I'm in there. I really am not a fan of chatrooms. It says I can't post in general. Which room am I supposed to go to?

We can use #cycling for chatting, or in private if you don't feel like using the server. Let me go there to explain some ideas.

I completely see your point. I think we face a lot of challenges when it comes to steemit and communities. While cycling4steemit and others is a great start, it's still so far away from what I wish it to be. I will soon start to have a bit more time on my hands to brainstorm some ideas to what can help us. But it's not ideas we need, it's people(including myself) to take action.

Right now it's about uniting the community and sadly steemit don't have the tools for that just yet, although they are working on it. But do we wish to wait around for so long? Of course we can look outside of steemit and begin to use other means of uniting us abit more such as discord.

In the end its about creating a place that is attractive to go. Both as you suggests through challenges etc. :) I love to see you have stated to take some action yourself!

Cheers man!

Thanks man :) It is a joint effort. There are people who are interested in helping. Trying to make something work out

This is awesome!!! Add me to the madness if you wouldn't mind, tyvm!

Great to meet another cyclist here. Will keep you posted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98