My Top 5 Gripes About Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

Celebrating Slaughter



Today many of you will be celebrating the slaughter of indigenous people as well as your upvotes from #bernieblackfriday with flaccid circle-jerk post. But I like going against the grain to give some balance to life, so I will list some things that I'm not thankful for on Steemit, aka "Why I Don't 💗 Steemit all the time".

Oh ... and 🖕 for celebrating the slaughter of my relatives! ;)

I'm not going to get into the same old tired complaints people regurgitate on here daily for rewards (delegation, flags, circle-jerks, etc), I'm going to get really nitpicky and point out things that grind my gears daily that I wish would have been addressed long ago, yet still exist today.

Top 5 Gripes


  1. The account "History" we are shown for our transactions is not accurate and has not been for some time. The numbers randomly change small amounts at any time.

  2. The escrow feature that exist is rarely mentioned or marketed and Steemit has no GUI for it's users; yet escrow is one of the most useful and used services in most every cryptocurrency community ... or maybe that's just me.

  3. There is a 1 hour wait to change your password. Perhaps there is a good reason for this that I'm unaware of, but I can personally attest that this will one day bite someone in the ass if it's not removed ... and I hope it's not me ... again. ;)

  4. If I login on the Settings page with my Active key and make a change, I have to enter my Active key again to actually save the change. Once again, maybe there is a good reason for this, but if I can login to the Wallet page with my Active key and send funds without having to reenter my Active key, I see no reason why I'm forced to reenter it just to make a simple Settings change.

  5. There's simply not enough onsite help, which can be easily accomplished with some mouseover text. Example : Few have a clue what the optimal Cover Image size is and a simple mouseover text or even text under the field indicating the proper size would be useful. There are MANY areas of Steemit that need this treatment :soon:. An entry level person can handle this stuff, please hire one!

There you have it



I could go on, but I'm lazy and I do most of my complaining about Steemit in #price, plus I'm doing a 30 minute talk at SoonFest on this same topic, so I don't want to give my entire presentation here. Speaking of which, be sure to follow @soonfest for updates on the meetup scheduled to happen soon.

SoonFest

I guess I'll go ahead and promote SoonFest here since I mentioned it. Scheduled topics at SoonFest include but are not limited to ...

  • "Ned Talk" - Presenter : Open mic discussion on all things Ned.
  • "sneak : DIAF?" - Presenter : Open mic discussion on CTO's telling users to "die in a fire".
  • "Steemit : Embrace the Suck!" - Presenter : Open mic discussion on the obvious.
  • "Ned's Hair" - Presenter : Jen Atkin
  • "#price" - Presenter : Moderators of #price
  • "Are you FullHQ?" - Presenters : @ats-david & @schattenjaeger
  • And so much more, stay tuned and follow @soonfest!
Sort:  

Time to fill some github issues!

Open mic discussion on CTO's telling users to "die in a fire".

Well, we learned the other day that he is technically not the CTO. But is kind of like the de facto CTO. So...wrong...but not really. But maybe wrong, or something.

Can’t wait for SoonFest though! Should be tons of fun! I’m excited about my presentation!

Soonfest is going to be great !

Also at Soonfest:

"Why Lara Croft's Boobs Are Still Important" - a Monologue by @schattenjaeger

So many of the features of steemit are ... for you to find out on your own. Like Lara Croft, exploring through the code, and old steemit posts, because how else are you supposed to find out about the class = pull-right?

flaccid circle-jerk

hahahah This is way different then a regular circle jerk.

I'm sure your gripes will be addressed

I don't know about the other items you mentioned but I am very thankful on this wonderful turkey day, to learn about the one hour password situation and I'll change mine before bed some day soon. Thank you!

As to your soonfest - Please add a seminar discussing the upcoming:

Steemit Mean Girls Red Paper

The top 47 things that might make a whale downvote you.

Avoid these tactics so that you do not screw up and have your rewards wiped out on this censorship-free platform :)

The blockchain is censorship-free, not Steemit nor any other website displaying post on the blockchain.

I think it's important to make that distinction because it helps people avoid the confusion of thinking their post was censored. All post are always viewable on the blockchain and they cannot be censored by anyone, and anyone can make a website displaying all or only certain content they wish to display.

I think down the road we will see more individual community websites dedicated to one single topic or range of topics that closely mirror one another in some way, and only those topics will be displayed on those sites.

It will be like picking and choosing which topics from the blockchain a sites userbase wishes to be displayed, Steemit is the first example and it's creators and userbase have choosen to display most every topic on the blockchain. Other sites may choose differently, and one may only display post that were flagged on Steemit to give balance. You never know, but it's possible and likely to happen at some point if not already.

The concept you are talking about reminds me of fb groups - which I still use and which work beautifully. Like-minded individuals in a semi-private spot talking about one topic. But groups don't work unless you have a big user base though and the 7000 active here on steemit is meager to say the least.

I guess I will call it "soft-censorship." Yes, posts 1, 2 and 3 are still on the blockchain, but the person never posted 4, 5 or 6 because of the down-voting. And then maybe they quit in disgust.

But groups don't work unless you have a big user base though and the 7000 active here on steemit is meager to say the least.

Here! Here!

And perhaps the reason that communities are not yet present on the Steemit UI?

Discord and the like could be argued as one offsite representation, and I'm undecided at present as to their benefit to the Community as a whole.

I remember you replying to me a few months back regarding a site that introduced a community type setup, and that it did not work at all.

Apologies for the reply hijack 😊

No problem - I am always glad to hear from you :)

It was tsu - a very similar place to steemit that collapsed with 3 million members when the groups came in. That was the same time as steemit started and a few of the tsusers were lucky enough to jump over here in July and August 2016. I declined because I was so disturbed by the failure of tsu.

I don't go in chats and I'm against them in general. Too much scamming and THE VERY REASON we don't have comments here. The active people are blabbing away in chats for free and hidden. Then they come out here to post about their fights in the chats and downvote each other. No benefit to steemit at all in my opinion.

Is @soonfest an actual festival in real life? Is it live stream video or audio? Where and what is it? I will follow it now in the meantime

Details are coming ... soon!

Cool! I looking forward to learning more about this buddy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62500.50
ETH 2936.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59