[Post Promoting] In case you didn't know, it's rude...

in #steemit7 years ago

The Problem with Post Promoting

In case you didn't know . . .
it is incredibly rude to advertise your work on other people's posts.
Someone has spent time and effort creating something really worth taking the time to read.
and then you go and shit on it with your shit.
I'm sick of reading comments like
"Wow great work, I'm an artist too, you should check out my stuff..."
Like it really makes me think you didn't even read what I wrote and you're a greedy little shit.

Honestly just leave it at
"Wow great work, I'm an artist too".
Because then, maybe, just maybe, I will actually take my time and look at your stuff.
Why?
Because you aren't taking a shit all over my post in the comment section with your own shit.
You are using MY post as a platform to promote your work. And It's not okay. You didn't put effort into my post. You are just using and taking advantage of it. Too many people take advantage of people's blogs in this way.

I want to know your comments, your feedback. My post, and other's posts, are not a place for you to advertise. I get it, you are trying to start out. But you are going to have a much better time, and will be better respected if you provide genuine feedback.
Honestly it's as annoying as chain text messages that say "Share with 10 friends or you'll die tonight"

I might lose followers for this post. But I don't care. My page is for honest and raw, writing, art, and feedback. Not your advertisement. Advertise your posts in your own posts.

I really do not want to flag you, don't make me. Don't make others flag you.
I shouldn't even have to worry about flagging people in general, yet here I am, making this post.

If you want to promote your "stuff", you need to promote yourself.
"How?" you might ask. . .

Well dear,

You read the article.
You digest the article.
You comment on the article with a genuine response.
You do not, and I repeat do not mention your posts.
The only exception I can even think of to this is if maybe, just maybe, you wrote about the same topic, and you want to discuss ideas.
And you talk about those ideas relating to the person's article. And even then, you should choose what you say carefully.

If you want to post promote there is a chat dedicated to it on
https://steemit.chat/
You can chat with people to get to know other users and there is a separate chat to post promote to avoid spamming people.
The best thing you can do is establish yourself as a fellow user through meeting new people, posting original content, and posting good feedback.

Moral of Story

STOP spamming the the world with post promoting
:) and we can all be happy campers on here


@truthtalks
https://steemit.com/@truthtalks
January 31st, 2018

Sort:  

I don't know how I missed this. You make your momma so Proud... Seriously she maybe a newbie for those reading this but if she flags you, you better believe she has accounts behind her to protect her from retaliation. Just saying.....

I confess that I left a link to something I wrote in the comment section for your wonderful piece about recycling. Hopefully, you won't flag me for leaving it. The link goes to the blog I've begun writing about Larry "The CanMan" Van Ness at Writing.com, and I hope you'll find it helpful.

Super true. A lot of users here don't take time to read posts and just scroll along them and leave unconstructive comments without even knowing the entire content. They scan along the post and then drop the usual 'hey, nice blog' stuff praises. New users need to realize that it's not just about getting noticed but it's about connecting with people and sharing yourself in a way that it inspire others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34