Tips and Tricks: Part 1 (Guide to Getting Started)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

PART 1: Tips & Tricks

I'll be sharing some neat "Tips & Tricks" on what I've learned from watching what the bigger players do in STEEMIT and how you can do it too!

On this post, I'll be talking about:

  • How to get a quick boost to your post.
  • How to Setup Auto Voting for your favorite bloggers

How to Get a quick Boost


Two fastest way to get a little boost of SP/SD to your post. There are others, but I will focus on these two.

Both @randowhale and @booster gives your account an Upvote which gives you a bit of a boost because they have high Steem Power and Voting Power. This usually translates to about $4-$10 to your post in one quick shot.

The steps for both are the same and very simple.

  • Go to your Wallet --> Transfer

https://i.imgur.com/RLJ80Lb.png

  • In the "To" section, enter either "randowhale" or "booster" --> send 2 SBD --> in "Memo" enter the link to your post.
    https://i.imgur.com/ELDw9b2.png

The main difference between Randowhale and Booster:

  • Randowhale: You get faster UpVote and the strength of his vote will vary, depending on his current Voting Power. It tends to hover around 45% - 55%.

  • Booster: You have two main differences:

    • You don't get an immediate vote. It's based on a "every 2.4 hours" schedule. To know where you are on that voting block check out the Booster ROI Tool provided by @blueorgy. He also provides other statistics, but the countdown is the one I pay attention to the most. https://i.imgur.com/S4CZjyO.png
  • You can decide to give more than 2 SD. But before doing so, you may want to check out the Booster Tool again to see what's the best amount to send. It's always possible you get a smaller return on your investment. I find that $2 is a pretty safe bet.
    https://i.imgur.com/mvTB242.png

How To Auto Vote


Have you ever looked at the "Whats Trending" and realized you are 15 hours late to voting on someone's vote? Well there's a solution for that!

SteemVoter is a website that allows you to create a list of your top bloggers that you want to always vote on.

https://i.imgur.com/jb8joKm.png

Setting It Up...

You'll need to grab your "Private Posting Key" from your wallet in your steemit account.

NOTE: Never share your Active or Owner keys with ANYONE!https://i.imgur.com/iAJkDhd.png

Now go back to the SteemVoter website and click "Add Account" and enter your account name and now you can "Paste" your key and click "ADD NEW ACCOUNT" to complete this window.

https://i.imgur.com/KhhnQ0h.png

NOTE: It can take anywhere from 5 to 10 hours to get approval for your account.

Next, you will click on "RULES"

https://i.imgur.com/FEuqW9P.png

Inside the "Rules" section you have some fields to enter, which I think are pretty self explanatory.

After adding "truth-be-told" (lol!...yes, I'm self promoting), the next important thing is to decide the timing of your vote. Most seem to agree that between 20-29 minutes are the best, "safest" time slots to push in your vote. The idea, as I understand it, is if you post to early and it does not "Trend", you give up your curation rewards to the author. But if you do it as late as possible before the 30 minutes, you do get the rewards, even if it doesn't trend (If I'm incorrect on this please let me know in the comments below).

A couple of things to note.

  • Click "PLAY" to activate this bot, but keep an eye on your "Voting Power." If your "RULES" list contains a lot of people your auto voting on, your "Voting Power" can begin to drop rather quickly. As a rule of thumb, I only "PLAY" when my VP is at 95% or higher and "PAUSE" the bot when my VP drops to around 80%.

https://i.imgur.com/Vl7YYqG.png

How to see who you auto voted for:

Click on "LOGS" to see who your "bot" auto voted for.

https://i.imgur.com/Od2EnUa.png

https://i.imgur.com/YCF6hog.png


Don't Miss Any of the "Tips & Tricks Series"

Check out "Part 2" of my "Tips & Tricks"
Tips & Tricks: Part 2 (Guide to Getting Started)



https://i.imgur.com/qd2SPwX.png

Sort:  

Thanks a lot I can learn a lot from you, now I have shared this post.

Thanks, glad this was helpful :-)

I want to learn a lot from you, please teach me master!

Haha, I'll do my best!

A little extra tip: Set your first photo to be about 800 x 400. That shows up better when it gets shrunk as a thumnail.

Hi @truth-be-told, I see you have mentioned me.
This is automatic bot response so that I may respond to your mention later.
Learn more about this bot...

breally upvote deserving post I have seen you just are too good man thanks for such an info

Thanks, trying to put out there all the tricks I've learned thus far. Stay tuned in for the next post of my next Tips and Tricks!

This post has received a 1.80 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @truth-be-told.

Hello you might like @bellyrub it is much like @booster

Cool, I appreciate the tip!

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 19.78 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @truth-be-told.

great post for new entrants

Thanks, that's why I thought to do it. Figured I could save the new peeps some time.

I've done randowhale three times and it only gives me like 1.10 do you know why? I read all this it gives good advice and I thank you for it!

The UpVote % from randowhale depends on his voting power at that time. I like to check it before using it...because if it's too low...like today, then I don't even bother. Right now it's at 30%...I only use it when at least 50%.

How do you check I'm sorry I'm so ignorant about it

Glad you asked! I just finished posting a part two of "Tips & Tricks"

But to save you some time, you can use Steemstats.com

As of right now, he's at about 30%. (screenshot from Steemstats.com)

I don't believe it I can't see it on my phone! They're working on that thank you for your reply much appreciated🌷

Thanks! Now I know how to use randowhale :)

Cool, glad that was helpful :-)

Great info. Had to up vote and resteemed. Keep on, keeping on.

Thanks, appreciate the support! ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45