Here is how the Steemit Trending Page would look like without Bid Bots and Self Votes! (12.11.2018)

in #steemit6 years ago

Trending Posts Without Bid Bots and Self Votes

In the last 24 hours alone people spent at least 5489 SBD and 16157 STEEM on post promotions using bid bots or vote selling services. I know bid bots are a controversial topic and it is not up to me to decide if these bots are good or bad. Heck, I'm a bot myself, so who am I to judge? However, I can help you with your own judgment by providing data. Besides my DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS, where I try to direct attention to posts that deserve more rewards, I decided to use the data at my disposal to publish another kind of top list.

Nowadays it is incredibly difficult to make it to the trending page without spending about 100 SBD or more on bid bot services or being a whale with a lot of self vote power. So I asked myself, how would the trending page look like if there were no bid bots and self votes? Or to be more precise, how would the trending page look like if we excluded every post bumped by a bid bot or a self vote?

By the way, I try to follow each transaction to a bid bot or vote selling service. Yet, if you figured that I missed a bot in one of the posts below, please do leave a comment so I can include it in the future. Thanks!

The Top 10 Posts NOT Promoted by Bots

So without further ado, here are the top earning, text based posts (excluding dmania etc.) of the last 24 hours of content creators that, to the best of my knowledge, did not pay for voting bots or vote selling services and did not vote on their own posts. A list of the humble, so to say. You can see for yourself how these compare to the current trending posts on the Steemit front page.

#1 Unique Painting of Mountain God in Magoksa Temple -- by @slowwalker with a current reward of 83 SBD

The connection with the local primitive religion is the one of the most interesting part of Buddhism in Korea. The proof of this connection seems the hall for Mountain God. There exist several variants in this architecture. Usually there are three figures in this hall, the center is Buddha, the figures of the side are the mountain god and the monk who attains enlightenment alone. So called 3 sacred hall. The origin of Mountain God in Korea is unknown. But in my guess, Mountain god mustve h...

#2 Creating a water drop photograph timer DIY Project. -- by @markangeltrueman with a current reward of 56 SBD

Hey all. classpullright An attempt of mine from years ago I love water drop photographs but its been a few years now probably more like 15 since I attempted anything like that. The results back then were average so I think its about time to build something new and give it another go. Ill be doing this over a few posts, starting with some of the concepts in this post and then moving on to prototyping, building and testing and then, of course, getting some results hopefully The basics c...

#3 Fizzy Fruity Cocktail -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 47 SBD

After a long day of seemingly endless domestic duties, when it became time for me to work on my creative endeavors, I thought of the advice misattributed to Hemingway write drunk, edit sober. My days of heavy drinking, Hemingwaystyle, are long behind me. But I do enjoy a good cocktail now and then. A guest from earlier had left behind a few sparkling grapefruit juices, so when making my cocktail, I went for the obvious mixer. This fruity beverage is light, bubbly, and sweet. But not so fem...

#4 The Haunting of Hill House TV show Pretty dern awesome so far -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 45 SBD

I started to watch this because I had accidentally read somewhere that Elliot from E.T. Henry Thomas is in a new Netflix series and this is it. I had read it is pretty scary and then was delighted to find out that there are many episodes so this could take a while I have only watched the first 3 episodes so if you have seen the entire thing I would appreciate it if you didnt spoil it for me or anyone else. That wouldnt be very nice. So basically the story is about a rather eccen...

#5 My Favorite Teacher -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 45 SBD

The further I edge into adulthood and begin to see my influence on those younger than me, I start to speculate on the adults that stood out among the many I encountered in my everyday life. As a mother, an aunt, as someone who loves to interact with the young people in my life, I hope to always impart a meaningful influence on the little ones I am privileged to interact with. I had dozens, if not hundreds of teachers throughout my education, but in all honesty, only three stand tall in my ...

#6 The Dreamcatcher -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 45 SBD

You have likely encountered a dreamcatcher at some point in your life. Dreamcatchers are hoops, typically of willow twigs, with a woven net that resembles something like a spider web. They are ubiquitous as a home decoration here in the American Southwest, but they also harbor a mystical history. altDreamcatcher, Native American, Spider Web, Feather The origins of dreamcatchers can be attributed to the Ojibwe tribe far from the southwest of the northern U.S. and southern Canada near the ...

#7 Guild Wars 2game gem store stuff worth buying part 2 -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 44 SBD

If you dont know what Guild Wars 2 is, I suppose I should start by explaining that is is an MMO Massive Multiplayer Online game that is free to download and free to play. You dont have to upgrade to the expansions right away because the free world is massive. However, like many games that have been around for years and years, there are not many people in those areas anymore. To be honest I dont know where they are. There are at the moment 2 expansion packs that cost something like 20...

#8 Horse Feathers -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 43 SBD

Okay, so maybe this post is a little late. Twelve years late, that is. But when it comes to music, Im just a little slow on the draw sometimes. There was a time when I used to be obsessive about my music consumption, voracious. That if I liked one song, I would have to listen to the entire album it spawned from, and then perhaps the artists entire discography if the album was worth a listen. Those days are no more. As the parent of a two year old, I listen to more nursery rhymes than Im pr...

#9 Todays Gratitude -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 42 SBD

altHeart, Wooden Heart, Hydrangea, Flower, Wood, Love With Thanksgiving right around the corner, many people are asking themselves what they are thankful for. I try to practice gratitude on a daily basis, as it helps reveal all the beautiful aspects of my life, from the grand to the ordinary. By listing the things youre grateful for, you begin to appreciate the minutiae of your life or you may even learn to find appreciation in the little annoyances of your existence. For instance, my t...

#10 E.T. The ExtraTerrestrial film a big part of any 80s kids childhood. -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 42 SBD

I know I just wrote about the E.T. Merchandise but this movie was so huge in the 80s that it deserves its own article. the original painting of this poster sold for 400,000 This sort of advertising was considered very covert back in the day. You couldnt simply jump on Youtube to see what the heck it was all about. Maybe you would call a friend but mostly it made you look forward to the commercials. At the start of the actual film it is unclear whether or not this is going to be som...

So? What is your opinion about these non-bot trending posts? Before I forget, do not miss out on checking my other top list of DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS to help minnows and promote good content! Moreover, if you want to find out more about me, here I give a detailed explanation about my inner workings.

Your Customized Top List

If you liked this top list, maybe you are also interested in the trending pages for different tags without bid bots and other cool custom adjustments to your feed. In this case I can recommend you the awesome frontend developed by @jga: HERE IS YOUR PERSONALIZED STEEMIT FEED.

You can Help and Contribute

By upvoting and resteeming this top list, you help covering the server costs and finance further development and improvements.

NEW: You may further show your support for me and all my daily truffle picks by following my curation trail on SteemAuto!

Delegate and Invest in the Bot

If you feel generous, you can delegate Steem Power to me and boost my daily upvotes on the truffle posts in my other top list. In return, I will provide you with a small compensation for your trust in me and your locked Steem Power. Half of my daily SBD and STEEM income will be paid out to all my delegators proportional to their Steem Power share. Payouts will start 3 days after your delegation.

Click on one of the following links to delegate 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000, or even 5000 Steem Power. Thank You!

Cheers,

trufflepig

TrufflePig

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80