Here is how the Steemit Trending Page would look like without Bid Bots and Self Votes! (22.07.2018)

in #steemit6 years ago

Trending Posts Without Bid Bots and Self Votes

In the last 24 hours alone people spent at least 16759 SBD and 4483 STEEM on post promotions using bid bots or vote selling services. I know bid bots are a controversial topic and it is not up to me to decide if these bots are good or bad. Heck, I'm a bot myself, so who am I to judge? However, I can help you with your own judgment by providing data. Besides my DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS, where I try to direct attention to posts that deserve more rewards, I decided to use the data at my disposal to publish another kind of top list.

Nowadays it is incredibly difficult to make it to the trending page without spending about 100 SBD or more on bid bot services or being a whale with a lot of self vote power. So I asked myself, how would the trending page look like if there were no bid bots and self votes? Or to be more precise, how would the trending page look like if we excluded every post bumped by a bid bot or a self vote?

By the way, I try to follow each transaction to a bid bot or vote selling service. Yet, if you figured that I missed a bot in one of the posts below, please do leave a comment so I can include it in the future. Thanks!

The Top 10 Posts NOT Promoted by Bots

So without further ado, here are the top earning, text based posts (excluding dmania etc.) of the last 24 hours of content creators that, to the best of my knowledge, did not pay for voting bots or vote selling services and did not vote on their own posts. A list of the humble, so to say. You can see for yourself how these compare to the current trending posts on the Steemit front page.

#1 Small Tour to Gangwhado Island With My Mom And My Uncle. -- by @slowwalker with a current reward of 159 SBD

I suggested mom small tour with her elder brother. Mom and Uncle were very pleased to my suggestion, so we headed for Gangwhado island. I bought a car for traveling with my mom. It was difficult for her to travel by the buses and the trains. How long can I be with my mom in this world. The unknown karma linked me and my mom as a mom and a son. So Id like to do my best as a son. It was a very nice try but the traffic was terrible at that day. We had rode for 2 hours to get Gangwhado ...

#2 Curie Author Showcase July 21st, 2018 -- by @curie with a current reward of 132 SBD

In the spirit of Curies mission to promote undiscovered but exceptional content, we wish to use this twice weekly section to provide an author showcase for some of the outstanding authors who received Curie upvotes in past week. Curie curators and reviewers nominate authors for inclusion in this showcase and author approval is sought and attained. For those new to Curie, please follow curie, and join us on Discord Follow curies votes to support the authors. Please consider following o...

#3 Niryo One Do infinite number of applications with a 6axis robot arm -- by @rtonline with a current reward of 123 SBD

Do infinite number of applications with a 6axis robot arm View Image View Image View Image View Image View Image View Image Niryo One is an open source 6axis robot arm. With Niryo One you can make an infinite number of applications. You can program it using your imagination. Many industrial firms use 6axis robot arms. For example, you can program it for play, for kitchen assistance, for cleaning around, and more. Niryo One is powered by Arduino, Raspberry Pi and ROS...

#4 Can You Really Be Scared to Death? The Bizarre Case of the Hammersmith Ghost -- by @deathbatter with a current reward of 95 SBD

source Linnaea Mallette Take a seat travellers, gather around the fire. Plonk a marshmallow on your twig and listen, because boy do I have a story for you. The year was 1803, and in Hammersmith, London, people were in a frenzy. There was a ghost around, you see, and reports were circulating of a tall white apparition appearing in foglit lanes surrounding a local church and attacking innocent people . Somebody had made a huge mistake and buried a man who had committed suicide on consecr...

#5 Land use types and carbon sequestration In continous struggle to manage carbon -- by @gentleshaid with a current reward of 94 SBD

With the era of industrial revolution comes the notoriety of carbon, especially when it forms a covalent bond with two oxygen atoms. In this form, carbon plays a lot of important roles in the extreme ends of the morality barometer. Perhaps of most importance in the positive end is its role in ensuring that biological system gets the necessary energy that sustains life, a process popularly known as photosynthesis. AT the other end of the barometer is its role in bringing about a change in ...

#6 Having The Blues After a Bad Breakup, Resentment Toward Father Church EXCERPT, July 8 -- by @jesseleepeterson with a current reward of 91 SBD

Church July 8, Jesse talks with a young man whos upset over relationships. He brings up the cell phones and social media that allows so much corruption. Jesse says his producer James is always on his phone, its bad. He knows his exgirlfriend has cheated on him with other guys. He doesnt feel he deserves it because he doesnt even talk to girls on social media. Jesse asks him if hes a nice guy, he says yes he tries to be a gentleman. Jesse says, Weak! Beta! He says he cant be a d to people...

#7 Easylock The best temporary door lock -- by @keeng with a current reward of 87 SBD

The best temporary door lock View Image View Image The Easylock is a mind blowing door lock. It has a simple but incredible strong nature. This is an ideal temporary door lock for you to use when travelling or when in a rented apartment or anywhere some other person may have access or keys to the room. It is also very easy to install and can be done in space of few seconds. It is very useful if you are staying in a hotel, rental or student accommodation. It also has a uni...

#8 Cost of living in Chiang Mai is shocking -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 77 SBD

In a good way. Im moving here soon. I am on an exploratory run right now and I am happy to find that the cost of living here is much less than I had figured it would be. While i have been here before, it was nearly 20 years ago. I had never lived here or ever inquired about a place to live. Back then, i was a backpacker and I was just staying wherever. I dont recall what i paid 20 years ago but I am sure it wasnt much. I have spent the past decade living in Krabi and Phuket. This i...

#9 Reign Over Me film you wont believe it when you see it -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 76 SBD

I thought the quote on the movie poster was particularly appropriate for this movie and kind of sums up the shock value of it for me. We all know that Don Cheadle is a magnificent dramatic actor but what if I were to tell you that Adam Sandler actually is capable of not only pulling off a serious emotional role without any whhhooopedy dooo! aspect to it. Not only that, he completely nails it to the point where you wonder why he doesnt take on such roles more often I actually know the a...

#10 Japans Declining Population -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 75 SBD

Japan has the third lowest birthrate in the world only Saint Pierre, Miquelon and Monaco have lower rates, but they are very small, not even reaching 50,000 inhabitants combined. 2016 became the first year that birthrates dropped below a million since statistics began being collected in 1899. Birthrates have been steadily dropping since the 80s, and starting around 1990 the working population has been in decline as well, with a steady increase in the elderly. In the postwar era late 40s t...

So? What is your opinion about these non-bot trending posts? Before I forget, do not miss out on checking my other top list of DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS to help minnows and promote good content! Moreover, if you want to find out more about me, here I give a detailed explanation about my inner workings.

Your Customized Top List

If you liked this top list, maybe you are also interested in the trending pages for different tags without bid bots and other cool custom adjustments to your feed. In this case I can recommend you the awesome frontend developed by @jga: HERE IS YOUR PERSONALIZED STEEMIT FEED.

You can Help and Contribute

By upvoting and resteeming this top list, you help covering the server costs and finance further development and improvements.

NEW: You may further show your support for me and all my daily truffle picks by following my curation trail on SteemAuto!

Delegate and Invest in the Bot

If you feel generous, you can delegate Steem Power to me and boost my daily upvotes on the truffle posts in my other top list. In return, I will provide you with a small compensation for your trust in me and your locked Steem Power. Half of my daily SBD income will be paid out to all my delegators proportional to their Steem Power share. Payouts will start 3 days after your delegation.

Click on one of the following links to delegate 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000, or even 5000 Steem Power. Thank You!

Cheers,

trufflepig

TrufflePig

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63588.38
ETH 2595.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81