You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Epic Reward Pool Rapist @Grumpycat Unveils Fascist Roadmap

in #steemit7 years ago

Sure, maybe to you, and other people who have "done 'social' since five years" the only draw to steemit is the money, and there is a reason why people like that burn out here, because it is all about the money. But for the REAL users this platform is great. I can find content creators, support their efforts, have an actual dialog with them, curate through their comments to make the best rise to the top (good luck with that on youtube or facebook), etc. I have yet to see a single social platform that gives that much control to not just the runners of the community, but to the members as well.

Not only that, but if any group of people wish to share whatever opinions they have, it is not censor-able in any way (aside from filtering and flagging but that is beside the point). I am hard pressed to find cons aside from all the spam comments that never get up-voted anyway with their "I vote u vote me resteem follow". but have you seen the spam on youtube or others?

Spam be spamming since before spam was spam.

Sort:  

I only came here for some special content and so I had a prolonged but entirely unambitioned look, for the reasons I listed. You see, I earn my money indirectly, from assuring that certain things and people get placed well on search engines.

I see steemit much in the same category as youtube, which I also sometimes visit for special content. I had a look at facebook in 2012 but decided against joining it - Google is handling spam very nicely, there's no trouble at all and marketing still works if you know what you're doing... regarding youtube, many creators have recently left it because it had started to censor politically and/or demonetize ad-unfriendly content (a very flexible term that also excludes some art). These people have all flooded into other networks, mostly minds.
It's unsurprising that you find no flaws when you really don't seem to have all that much to compare.
Sorry for insulting your home turf - some people feel comfortable on a construction site - I'm not envious, that's all.

Okay, I was offering you an out to better elaborate how minds allows so much more community control (especially when they seem to have a scatalogical disorder on their newsfeed for most newbies) But I suppose you would rather assume you hurt an entrenched "steemer" (forgive the pun).

You haven't spent much time in youtube comments if you think google does a good job at eliminating spammy comments or curating the best to the top, go sift through some comments on a trending video, it swings all over the place with the majority adding no value to the topic at hand.

I wish you no ill will and hope you have a great 2018 wherever you choose to spend it, I hope you can "keep done your social for year"!

I didn't talk about trenches, I merely used the term "turf" which is less reminiscent of a shooting war ;)
I'm not talking about youtube at all, I'm talking about Google Plus.
Why would I be interested in community control at minds ? It exists, but telling the truth, I never had any trouble circumventing control, also I have my own methods to control the people I deal or refuse to deal with. As to minds, it could be better - it's any bit as much in beta as this is.
However, the things you guys are complaining about are happening here and nowhere else.
What if you just blocked people like grumpycat ? Wait...

It's not me having trouble here so far and I think I might be able to circumnavigate it, but how would I know ? I could also imagine eventually feeling pressure here because the place is what it is.

All networks have to shake out twists, Google Plus had them and by now they managed to have a platform that is configurable to a high degree and entirely allows free movement and speech sufficiently to be entirely different from facebook, for those who can handle it (this is always important to understand, you will find it's the same everywhere - no matter who controls or doesn't control whatever)

Google uses our content while we use Google to spread it, which is obviously something nobody else can do. Upon googling your alias, @nonameslefttouse, I find that you joined quite a few networks that I never cared to join. Remarkable. Did it help ?
Art is actually one of the things most easy to market on social media, I'll be glad to help.

They stopped shooting rockets outside, it's past two in the night.
Excuse me till next evening or so.

Search engines?

Google my name.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66824.20
ETH 3503.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62