What Has Steemit Done for You?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

No matter if you are here for the money or the atmosphere or something else, Steemit has probably had an effect on your life. For me, Steemit has allowed me to realize my writing is, sometimes, more valuable than I give it credit for. This is a great personal victory for me as I have been writing for nearly 10 years now. But what has Steemit done for me since I joined in September of last year?

()
I can rest more now too thanks to less stress over bills and life in general (picture of me with my little buddy, Omen).

Well, let's look at that. I have made money, as is par for the course with this project. With that money I have made a few purchases, powered up a bit, lost some of it in trading (I learned real quick I am a writer, not a day trader), and I will be using some of the money I earn here to buy seven acres of land in the country (we are pending on the deal).

That last part is the part I want to focus on for a minute. Land. Thanks to Steemit, I am able to realistically talk with the owner about buying his property that he no longer has any use for (he is self employed and has no interest in traveling to the land regularly to maintain it). He is giving me an opportunity to purchase the land with a small down payment and low monthly payments (it will be paid off in five years, three months). Without the support of the friends I have made here on Steemit, I would not be able to afford to cover that down payment and get this land.

This land, once paid off will be my new home and thanks to on line endeavors such as Steemit, I will not have to work a regular job any longer. That is my end goal. Self employment. The road has been long and hard but thanks to Steemit, the end has made a LARGE leap closer to me. For that, I cannot thank the members here enough. Thank you.

Also, thanks to Steemit, I have made new friends, engaged in great conversations, learned more about cryptocurrency than I knew before, and now feel much better about my role in the projects I am a member of. That is thanks to the great articles others are posting and making available for all of us to read and enjoy.

I don't claim to know the ins and outs of Steemit, I am still quite new to this. I write because I enjoy it, the money is a nice bonus and extremely helpful though. It has allowed me to lower my work related activities that require manual labor to just one day job. I now can focus on using my brain instead of my body to earn money and enjoy life a little more.

Thank you Steemit community.

What has Steemit done for you?

Sort:  

(I learned real quick I am a writer, not a day trader)----> me too!. Nice! :)

I am brutally honest, especially with myself. That was a tough lesson but one I hold close to my heart now. It is a reminder to go where the winds of life take me, not where I think I should go. That is how I ended up on Steemit and boy, I am glad to be here.

Mainly gave me a nice platform for good content. I Haven't been really that successful in getting money from here!

A wonderful and positive story! Cheers to you @triverse!

Thank you, @ericvancewalton. It was just an honest point of view about how Steemit has changed my life already. Also, a look forward to where it may end up (self employed, owning land and living there peacefully).

payed my meds and a big part of my debt during my time here. I also had the chance to meet in person a lot of the community at steemfest. Lovely people. all I can say about steemit is, it will be all over the world, when the time comes it will become unstopable.

I need to look up Steemfest, is it a regular thing (hopefully) or was it a one time event? That would be awesome to meet in real life some of the great people I have come to know here through words.

Hopefully it will be repeated. it was a great time for all I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94