Finally Getting Serious About Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

I know, I know. You see similar headlines all over #Steemit. People are constantly stating they are finally getting serious about powering up their account and working towards goals here. I am not trying to persuade anyone with that headline, just simply stating the fact that I am aiming for more focus on my content here.

My goal is 1,000 #Steem Power by the end of July. That may seem like a small number for most people but for me, that is a major milestone. I have overcome some financial difficulties this year that have kept me from powering up like I should have (way back when Steem was $0.07 per unit for instance - who remembers those days?).

I am excited about Hardfork 19, coming on the 20th of June from what I understand. This is going to be a great update that is supposed to help spread the voting power out a bit more. That is great news and, for me, shows the people in charge truly are interested in growing Steemit.

Writing is my passion, I love writing. Before Steemit my writing was limited mainly to two websites I co-own. As you have probable learned from the #Youtube content creators that have finally made the jump over here, Google AdSense is not paying anything worth talking about. Late last year my sites were seeing $10+ per thousand views. So far this year, they have barely broken $1 per thousand views, if that. This is disheartening because I pay my writers with a "revenue share" plan. The more the sites make, the more they make. I don't even keep my own earnings from the sites as after hosting and staff are paid, I am taking money out of my other online endeavors to balance the books. Relying on advertising from others sucks.

images.jpg

That is what I like about Steemit, and for some reason it took me this long to realize it, that the power is in our own hands. Yours and mine. Powering up is no different than putting in a bit of sweat equity into your own account. No one else can do it for you. I have realized that it is time to refocus and rework my online endeavors - writing better Steemit articles and doing more here (commenting and upvoting) are quickly taking over my top 5 things I do online and I am fine with that.

Sort:  

I'm right behind you, boss! Let's do this! fist bump

Glad you joined us here man. Now if we could just get the rest of the gang over here.

Let's get to work! You can do it! Write all the articles!

No better advice than this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67144.34
ETH 3517.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69