My progress to date, learning how to SteemIt

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

According to Steemd.com, I am 20 days old today, here on SteemIt. That is almost 3 weeks that I've been using the site. I've come a long way during that time, I've met some great people here, and I've been learning heaps.

While much of my first week here was spent comparing SteemIt.com to Minds.com, and using the comparison of similarities and differences between these two blockchain-enabled sites to inform myself further, I'm now spending less time doing so, and more time exploring the unique features of SteemIt and the wider Steem ecosystem. I have ventured into third-party analytics sites such as Steemd.com, SteemWorld.org, and SteemDB.com amongst others. I have been introduced to the card game @SteemMonsters, thanks to the user @guiltyparties who I met in the SteemCleaners channel on Steem.chat. But my main source of knowledge about SteemIt, even more-so than the official FAQ, has been Discord, and specifically the AUS & NZ group which has become my second home, amongst my fellow Kiwi's. Prior to joining SteemIt, I was not a big user of Discord, so I'm having to learn this communication tool at the same time as learning SteemIt itself.

I am working towards improving my posts. I've been learning a lot just by seeing what some of you more experienced SteemIt users do. Taking advice from people like fellow Kiwi @ravenruis, I have created accounts on external editor sites like Hackmd, StackEdit, and Draftin, so that I can experiment with each and find one that suits me the best. I'll be creating a template for my posts, which will contain my standard horizontal rule image, my sign-off image, and my group promotion image/link, which will eventually be incorporated into all of my posts. For now, though, I'm just learning and experimenting. I'm keen to receive advice from more experienced Steemians. I've been reading many posts about good post creation and curation skills, and I'm always happy to discover more such.

Thanks to everyone who has accepted me here on SteemIt, those who have interacted with me, and who have given me advice, guidance and direction. I am a fan of the "pay it forward" concept, and the aroha that has been shown to me here will be repaid down the track.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, good to see another Kiwi here

Kia ora @flyingkiwi, thank you for the welcome. I'm from West Auckland, but I've spent a bit of time in the Western B.O.P. as well, including Katikati and Waihi / Waihi Beach.

oz here :)

✅ I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Hi @mrvxio, rather than a follow-for-follow, how about you give me a link to one of your own recent posts here on SteemIt which will help me to improve as a new Steemian, and if it is useful to me, I'd gladly give it an upvote.

Hmm, sorry, I'm still very new here on SteemIt (as I mentioned in my post above, I've only been here for just under 3 weeks). I'm not sure if the post you linked to will help me to improve the quality of my own posts. What is this "powerlifter" you mentioned?

best way is buy resteem on steembottracker.com

no, its not. buying votes is just lining the pockets of bot owners, and IF YOU ARE LUCKY you will break even on the cost u paid to promote your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59541.21
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53