You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: South American Economies!?!?

in #steemit7 years ago

Hey- I know I owe you an answer on this and sorry it has taken me a bit. As for Ecuador, I don't work here, I work online, so I'm a little bit out of touch with certain parts of the economy. But, it's still very cheap to live here although I do see some effects of inflation.

My understanding is Correa (the former President) put the nation into massive debt to China. Obviously this is not good and will hurt them long term, and they may even be suffering a bit from it right now, so I would expect things to get worse here over time.

I've heard Peru is doing well as they have a bit more of a free market.

If you can work online I think you should check it out. And if you can't work online yet, check out Upwork.com and consider taking classes to learn some skills so you can. Then move down here and live well while being able to get ahead at the same time.

My $.02 anyway. Did you have other questions? Maybe about specifics that I can help you with?

Sort:  

Thank you for this. I just wanna be free man. My wife and I grew up very poor and knew nothing about money and stuff and we have worked very hard to get in the position that we are now in. My role now is to try to secure our retirement somehow so I am trying to figure that out now. What can silver do for you there? Do you know?

They actually use dollars here, as in US dollars. They crashed their economy with hyperinflation in 2000, and they switched to the dollar since. They actually have an illegal immigration problem here now as so many want to come for the dollar.

So, by silver doing something for me here, what do you mean? They don't trade in silver and there aren't a lot of places to buy gold or silver. They aren't really up on that sort of thing here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55216.42
ETH 2325.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33