Post HF19: "Hot" and "Trending" pages completely dominated by whales

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

steemit-dragon.jpg

Of course it's way too soon to know the ultimate effects of HF19. We're just going to have to observe things and see how they go.

One thing I am noticing is that the hot and trending pages are dominated by whales, perhaps even more so than before?

Just to give you an idea, on the hot page right now, making a list of authors reputation scores, I see this:

72
72
74
68
72
70
71
71
76
70
57
72
72
74
65
67
72
51
72
69

Here is the breakdown of the 20 posts:

2 in the 50's
4 in the 60's
14 in the 70's

It's pretty much the same thing for the trending page, but I'm assuming that page is going to take a day or two to reflect the recent changes.

Anyway, was this supposed to change? Or, is this a predictable result?

Image 1



More from me:

The TRUTH about making money on Steemit

If you want to have a profitable experience here on Steem... [Read more]

STEEM Growth Outpaces Bitcoin!

During the past 60 days STEEM has largely outpaced BTC! [Read more]

Follow me @trevorlyman

Sort:  

Indeed ! It is really hard to compete with em !
But there is one place where we can make additional $
Look i just received $80 on 1 comment!
This is insane

Wow! Yeah, that is pretty impressive! :D

Keep in mind that reputation does not equal your whale/dolphin/minnow status.

I'm a 66 and definitely no whale. :) lol as are many with those reputations. Just as there are whales with low reputation numbers.

The fish status is based on your bank account.
Your reputation is based on just that.

Don't always assume high reps are whales.

That's a good point. I'll have to double check. :)

High reps are accounts that have had lots of upvotes and lots of posts with decent payouts over time. Many of the users you see in the 70s now are early users...the mid-60s and up are those who came in during the fall...and so on and so forth...and have stayed active within the platform during that time.

Honestly, I use reputation as a huge scale on legitimacy and quality of articles. Obviously, we have a lot of new users on the platform, so I am making it a point not to discriminate on that level, but there are great guilds such as @curie which share some excellent posts from new users with lower reputations, and that's usually my source for legitimizing.

I hope you have a blast on Steemit. The community here is awesome, the people are helpful, real and genuine...and it's really a cool place. :)

I feel like the sky is raining money
this update has made me a punch of money as my earnings of $55 suddenly jumped to $445 in a minute
I really still amazed and don't understand what's going on

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78