Never follow this type of Steemit user...

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

DQmQ5TGPQnpo9skdjWS4fxCqvP8oY2XFrNY5tWMcNoChMnS_1680x8400.png

Never follow a Steemit user who follows over "X" number people on Steemit.

You're going to have to come up with an exact number for X yourself, but remember this, the more people a person follows, the less important you are to them and the less likely they are to EVER see your content.

Even if the person writes great stuff, remember, your relationship with them will be completely one sided if they are following over (for example) 2,000 people. Their homepage feed of posts will simply be overloaded with content, meaning they aren't really paying attention to anyone's content.

So, when you are considering following a person, always check to see how many people they follow first. If they are following over X number of people, it's probably true that they really don't know how to use Steemit yet, are probably abusing Steemit in some way. My advice is that they should be ignored until they figure it out.

After all, people DO look at the number of people YOU are following when they decide who to follow, and for the same reasons I have just described. So, why inflate your numbers with people who have no interest in you when it could prevent other Steemit users from wanting to develop a relationship with you?

AAEAAQAAAAAAAAZAAAAAJDM3Y2IxMDJkLTBjNTktNGIwNS05ZThjLTViY2JmZGM0MzkyZQ.jpg

True Steemit users know this is a site about building relationships, and that relationships take time and effort, and you can't do that with thousands of people at once.

If you don't believe me, take a look at the accounts of the whales on this site. I rarely find one that follows more than a few hundred people. So, take that for what's it's worth and ignore it at your own risk! haha ;)

If you are following a lot of people right now, it's ok, you can fix it! Start pruning your list of users whom you follow, starting with those who follow too many Steemit users. And then work on creating better relationships with those you decide to stay on with. It will help you have a more positive and profitable Steemit experience!

Good luck and STEEM ON! :)

Image 1



More from me:

Facebook Promotion and Steem Giveaway!

Promote Steemit on Facebook and you win free STEEM!... [Read more]

The TRUTH about making money on Steemit

If you want to have a profitable experience here on Steem... [Read more]

STEEM Growth Outpaces Bitcoin!

During the past 60 days STEEM has largely outpaced BTC! [Read more]

Follow me @trevorlyman

Sort:  

thanks for the info. resteemed

You Know I Never Consider That ! Thanks For The Info Man !

Upvote and Resteem from me! This is great advice on ANY social channel. Followers are where you want the numbers to be anyway ;)

It can't be stressed enough how much overextending yourself will damage your network. It comes back to the "Know, Like and Trust" factor. Building a network takes time and anyone building networks just by clicking "Follow" all day isn't gaining anything in the end...

thanks for the insight.
I keep my followers low ,so I can keep up...
not a computer person,but I am getting better at it.
:-)
have a great day.
namaste!

agreeee

Good post here. I mean I make a post and only get a couple of views. Even you don't view some of them so why make a post at all? Feels to me like I am talking to myself and that is no fun.

Very well said. Thank you for sharing. Puff puff pass:)

I completely agree with you
I put my max limit to follow as 50 players since I joined steemit

While i agree to the idea behind preferring relationships over follow count, Sometimes a uni-lateral relationship would still work just fine. Sometimes I am only interested in the blog posts and curated content than creating a one one-one relation. In such a situation, I don't really care how many accounts one is following

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58