I think I’ve just figured something out that has been bugging me about Steemit for a whilesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I know I’m a bit slow on the uptake.

lightbulb
image source

It’s the hand that nature dealt me.

You can’t be devilishly handsome, suave, debonair, talented, an awesome husband and all around nice guy AND be quick on the uptake as well.

That’s a bit too much to expect.

But now I think I’ve finally figured something out.

I like comments on my posts.
I like comments on my comments.
I like the interaction on Steemit.

So I pay close attention to the little red number that tells me I have new comments. I also pay attention to the number of comments I have so I make sure to reply to them all, (those that need a reply).

So what was baffling me was sometimes the little number would say 3 replies, but when I went to the Replies page there would only be two replies.

Where was the other reply?

This was important for me because if someone left a reply, maybe asking a question and I didn’t respond, that would be rude.

And as I mentioned above, I’m an all around nice guy - I don’t want to be rude.

Was this a bug or a glitch? I couldn’t tell.

But today I was looking at SteemStats.com when this happened and I noticed something odd.

On the Replies page on SteemStats there was an extra reply that didn’t turn up on my page in Steemit!

Aha! I thought - Found you!

The reply was to a comment I’d made on @hopehuggs post

Now, if the reply was from @hopehuggs then I need to make sure I respond, because it is really important that I do.

But it was from a user called @lopezendrea1 telling me about her sad condition, and her desire to gift me 20,000 Euros, which is very sweet. The money would come in very handy right now, but I think there are better causes closer to her home that she should look into.

But this is where the lightbulb (or LED in my modern world) went off.

Her comment was flagged, making it hidden.

In my Steemit Replies feed, the reply doesn’t show up, but the counter is still counting it!

That makes much more sense now.

So thank you to @lopezendrea1 for helping me get to the bottom of this. Now if a comment is missing I know it is probably someone wanting to give me money, so there is no need to be reading them…

I really hope she finds someone to take the money off her hands. It looks like she has approached lots of people on Steemit offering a similar deal.

But to the credit of the wonderful people here, everyone seems to have turned her down, proving that there is more to life than just the pursuit of money.

Well done Steemians.


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Steem PowerCurationReputationPostsPowering up

Get your own badges from: https://steemit.com/@elyaque

Sort:  

Thanks for this really insightful post, to also help you with the replies area, I've noticed that when I comment on someone's post or reply, and then I delete my reply, the person who receives the notification will see that they have one new reply, but when they open up the Replies section, no new reply will appear because I Deleted my reply before the person could read it even though I triggered the Notification for them. I hope that helps you as well in understanding the layout. I'm sure the developers are still working on bugs as I get many new messages and don't get notifications at all right now either. Thanks again and Upvoted

Something else that I've noticed is that at times when I scroll down through my "Replys" I will find replies associated with earlier posts that don't appear near the top of the list.

My (personal) practice is to up-vote all replies (at 1% power, unless they are spectacular) as both an acknowledgement and as a way to remind myself that I've seen and (usually) responded to them. 😄😇😄

@creatr

Yes I am doing something similar.
I've noticed today that the little red box is not longer coming up.
So I may have sparked something at the development end....

Now I'm back to refreshing the Replies page every five minutes hehehe

You actually get extra reply notifications if the comment has been edited. So, if one person comments, then edits that comment twice, you'll get three notifications.

Oh, ok. Thanks for that.

That's useful to know.

My big worry is that people might think I am ignoring them. And I'm not, i just can't find the comment ;-)

Oh, I didn't know that either. Thanks for letting me know...and I apologize to anyone reading this as I have been a serial edit offender...probably driving you all nuts.

Ha! You helped me with two problems.....the reply button situation I've experienced that as well and thot it was a glitch and the second is with Steemit Stats. I didn't know about that site - that's helpful for me.

Glad I was of help to you ;-)
That makes my Sunday just a little bit better :-)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.63 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

hehehe so 1. I've already offered to be Lopez' adopted daughter so that I can inherit her money.... LOL

  1. I came here because when I saw your comment... i TOO had to make sure that you got my comment (i am the same way - i simply MUST reply to all comments!!! hehehe and when they are nested - and I can't reply anymore... it kills me to think that the person might think i won't reply to them! LOL)
  2. you DID read the whole post before you commented about my "abominations" part.... right??? :) If you didn't... please go back and read the whole thing hehehehe I think you'll see a surprise.
    and 4. after reading this post, i am following you! hehehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67