1000 Followers And The Effects Of Social Medias On Your Brain!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Followers.png

I just noticed that I have over 1000 followers! I want to thank everyone who follows me and reads my posts :)

While to some people 1000 followers might not seem like a lot, it is for me!

I created an account here over 6 months ago and I love every minute of being here.

I did have to go away from Steemit for a few months, but it happened because I had some problems in my life.

I've been really active for over a week now and my follower count is steadily increasing every day.

I guess, most people who follow me, did that because I'm commenting on a lot of posts lately. When people see your comments, they might check your profile and follow you if your content is interesting.

So, if you want to grow your follower count, start commenting. But don't just comment something like "follow me pls" "good post" and so on.

Nobody will actually upvote or follow you if that's the way you roll :D

Just leave comments that are relevant to the post. Maybe as a question or add something useful. That way you'll be exposing yourself to thousands of eyeballs!

And that's what you want, right? Eyeballs! So go get those balls! Sorry... I mean EYEBALLS...

The Effects Of Social Media


If I had thousands of followers on any other social media, I wouldn't really care.

I basically stopped using any social media. I only use messenger for chatting with my friends.

I suggest you stop using social media as well. It's an addiction that changes the way you feel, act, behave, communicate, etc...

It has so many psychological effects, it might ruin your life.

Most people are addicted to getting likes and shares, because they feel good. It releases dopamine as if you achieved something.

While in reality, those likes and shares give you no value whatsoever. BUT, you get used to it and it becomes your daily goal.

You want more and more recognition. You slowly start to spend a lot more time on those social medias and it's making you unproductive.

The Masses Are Being Brainwashed

We are being brainwashed by many things daily. Be it TV or video games, they are full of subliminal messages.

But social media is where most people are and it's no exception.

The richest people can use money to throw their opinions at hundreds of thousands people. Even if it's something fake and completely wrong, people will believe it.

Nobody ever looks up if the information they are seeing is true or false. Everyone blindly believes whatever is being told to them.

Each social media is used to manipulate and plant new beliefs into people's minds.

So, are you still happy to be on social media? Yes? Okay, let's go further...

It's Becoming Worse and Worse

I was born when there were no smartphones or any big social medias (they existed, but they were not popular yet).

I actually had to go out and interact with my friends in real life. My childhood was spent staying outside and doing crazy shit.

Now, I see every kid has a smartphone and every one of them uses Facebook or even some other social medias.

They are being brainwashed since their childhood. And the dopamine release is fucking up their psychology.

When these kids grow up, they will all be anti-social, depressed and anxious, because they will be afraid of human interactions.

By interacting with people on the virtual world since childhood they will never learn how to actually communicate or behave in the real world.

All their goal will ever be, is recognition on social media. To get some likes and comments on their profile pictures how cute they look.

Social medias were designed to make you feel good about these likes and whatever, so you would stay there forever.

You Can See Examples Of This Every Day

Before everyone was on social medias, do you remember how it used to be when you met up with you gang?

Everyone would be talking about something, interacting, communicating and doing something fun and memorable.

Nowadays, you meet up with your friends and everyone is sucked in to their phones. Chatting on Facebook or constantly checking the feed.

Because of that, no real conversations are happening and everyone feels weird to even hold eye contact.

People also became less creative when it comes to coming up with any fun activities. Why would they be creative when everything they need is on Facebook?

And by that I mean recognition (likes, comments, etc...).

The dopamine release is so good that people don't really need any real life activities anymore. Our brains are no longer searching for ways to have fun in real life, because you're having fun on social medias all the time.

The creators of these social medias knew how our psychology works and they took advantage of that. They used our vulnerability and screwed up the masses.

So, do you still want to stay on social media? You decide.

You can also check out this video if you're interested in this topic:


Once Again

THANKS FOR 1000 FOLLOWERS!

I'll even dance for you...


MomentCam_20180111225857.gif

(Yes, that is my face indeed)

Sort:  

Haha.. Your dance is amazing and its for us so its more cute.. Thanx for sharing your opinion.. Yeah you are right social media owners control us through controling our phsychology

Thank you! I'm not the greatest dancer but I tried really hard to do my best :D
Glad you enjoyed the post :)

Hahaha.. No you are.. You are dancing well like a perfect dancer

This is important to consider when it comes to the psychological effects of Social Media.. Following you for more ;)
Sorry if this was in your post, I couldn't find it....Would you say that steemit has the potential to create that same detriment, wherefore people are addicted to receiving likes and not even paying attentiong to their 'actual' social life? @lonestarpoet

I can't see steemit having the same psychogical effects, because if you're getting upvotes here, you're actually earning rewards, but to some degree, you can get addicted which might affect you im specific ways. Obviously, steemit is different, because you have to write and create great content and for that to happen you need to be motivated and productive. While let's say on facebook, all you have to do is post a selfie and you can get hundreds of likes for that without doing any hard work...

Congrats @trendo!! More and more are coming!!

Thank you! 😎

This post has received a 0.03 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Great write up on the article and congrats on the 1000 followers!

You brought up some really great points and I agree with most of what you said, though I think sometimes you use some absolutes unfairly like saying "everyone" does this or that, when it's not everyone but "most" people. Other than those few minor things, I think you brought up some really thought provoking and compelling points that I've also been touching on recently with my Facebook friends, trying to show them that Facebook is trying to make them addicted, and they don't even make any money over there and they are censored.. So.. Why do they keep doing that when there is an alternative that pays and can't as far as I know be censored? It's weird.. It is almost like a drug addiction.. It really is, and with some of the higher levels at Facebook coming out and saying they feel guilty because they were indeed trying to make people addicted.. It does more than ever seem sorta like a drug addiction.

YET.. In the end.. How different is that from a video game? When you play a video game you get similar things going off in the brain, pleasure chemicals and all that.. So.. Yeah it is addicting and yeah it does messed up a lot of people in various ways, but.. There's also something important there. It has been a way for me and others to get more information out about the world.

Some of us weren't so much looking for attention, but we were trying to BRING attention to serious issues in the world through that platform and others.. But I admit, even I feel like I'm addicted to Facebook, or was.. Even though I was using it mostly for important information sharing purposes. It is addicting, but it can also be used in an ethical and good way, I still post there a lil bit, but almost entirely in an effort to bring people over here, or to retseem my articles from here over there.

Facebook sucks now, I wish more people would see that it's older less useful technology and move to somewhere like here which would not only enrich them, but humanity in general with it's more widespread adoption.

Yeah, sometimes I get caught up in writing that I use "everyone" instead of "most" or the other way around. Indeed, when there's an alternative that you get paid for what you do on other social medias, I can't see why not use it. It can turn that addiction into actual rewards.
The addiction part was their whole point of those social medias. They created it so you would get attached to them just like drugs. Games are of course similar to that, because you get dopamine release by feeling like you've achieved something, while in fact, you achieved nothing in real value.
I agree that it's useful for getting information out about the world. Those platforms CAN be used for these purposes and they are quite effective at that, but the average person is not aware of about the possible effects of social medias and most just fall into the trap of needing that recognition every day (likes, comments, etc...).
But it can definitely be used for other purposes, not only for posting selfies and shit like that.
It's really an old technology now, and I think the blockhain has much more to offer and in the future most will realize this and move away from Facebook and other addictive social medias.
Thank you for the long comment, I appreciate that you took your time to write this!

You're welcome. Glad you appreciated my response to your post. I agree with everything you said and it is messing up society in some ways, however.. It does have its plusses like I mentioned, and I do disagree with you on one point here..

Games are of course similar to that, because you get dopamine release by feeling like you've achieved something, while in fact, you achieved nothing in real value.

I'm not sure what you mean by real value, but video games can be very valuable. They can help us learn lots of things, I remember there was a TedTalks once and a lady programmer claimed it's going to be video game players who save the world.. Because they like "going on quests" and "obtaining achievements" and things like that and I tend to agree with her.

I don't game much anymore, but it was a big part of my youth and it definitely helped me in some ways. I know my brain operates like a million times faster than many peoples because of video games. Especially cause I used to play games like Tetris and Chess a lot.. So I mean.. Video games are definitely not all bad, they can be very useful and important tools if used responsibly.

Problem is.. Like social media and drugs for that matter as well as many other things, many if not most people don't use them responsibly.

So.. I think we should work more on raising the human spirit up, instead of demonizing any kinds of technologies. If the human spirit were more evolved, it wouldn't use these tools in such stupid, lazy and narcissistic ways.

Video games can be useful of course. But what I meant by saying that, for example, you're playing a video game like GTA and you collect a lot of money there. You start feeling good about all the money you have there, but actually you haven't done anything productive for yourself. I've used to play like 8-10 hours every day and I was really unmotivated and unproductive when it came to real life. Definitely, games can teach you quite a lot of things, and I think they are pretty beneficial, but only if you don't get addicted to spend your whole day on them. It's all about how we use the tools we get. Whether it's social media or video games, using them correctly can be really useful, but if you're using them incorrectly, they are pretty much drugs to your brain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83