Introducing Sola, a Twitter/Instagram competitor that pays you to post...

in #steemit7 years ago

Introducing Sola, a social network "competitor" to Steemit...(get paid to use social media...)

I heard about Sola thanks to a post by @papa-pepper and just wanted to extend my own endorsement of it. It's targeting the same userbase as Steemit, but has a different focus towards more visual-based posts. While Sola may be a "competitor" to Steemit in the traditional sense (for a larger share of cryptocurrency market capital) the reality is that you can easily use both of them to earn income with your social media posts.

What's the difference between Sola and Steemit?

Sola is more like Twitter or Instagram, while Steemit is primarily a blogging platform with social features. The content discovery feature is more fair and nuanced at Sola - while the higher-paid posts on Steemit tend to get all of the preferential treatment, "regular guy" posts at Sola tend to get viewed by more people.

For reference, my "worst" posts on Sola so far have attracted about 50-60 views after about 24 hours of being active, while my "best" posts have attracted over 200 views. Compare that to the number of views on my Steemit posts...usually less than a dozen, with my best posts being under 100 views, for the most part.

Posts of mine that have been endorsed by no one on Sola ("endorsed" is the equivalent of an upvote at Steemit - you spend action points (AP), which you get a limited amount of per day, to endorse other people's posts/comments, and to post your own posts or comments) are ultimately viewed by more people than even some of my most popular posts on Steemit.

Sola is also more mobile friendly (IMO) than Steemit, with lots of functionality being primarily targeted towards the mobile user. I tend to use my desktop more, but given that Sola's app is very good in comparison, I find myself using my mobile phone to communicate and post more on Sola.

Steemit and Sola are Perfect Compliments

Because Steemit tends to endorse and encourage more long-form posts, and Sola is primarily "card-based" (similar to Tweets or Instagram pics/posts) you can use your Sola cards to link to your Steemit posts. You can effectively get paid to post a blog or an article on Steemit, then link to that Steemit blog post on Sola.

Get Paid For Referrals

Another nice part about Sola is that you get paid a small amount to refer new people to the network. So, if you sign up through my link, I'll get 5 SOL and 100 Action Points which I can use to endorse you, post other content, etc.

If you decide to use my link to sign up, let me know in the comments below, and I'll be sure to endorse your Sola post (if it's good, of course!) to help you get more views.

(If you decide to buy into Sola's ICO, which I can't necessarily recommend...but I've personally bought into it, because I think the platform is going to grow and SOL will be worth money over the long-term, you can also use this referral link to get an additional 5% SOL on top of what you purchase. I will also get 5% of what you purchase, so we both win. Note that their ICO ends in about 7 days from now.)

It's Worth Your Time To Check Out Sola

You get 5 SOL and 100 AP just for signing up, and you can start checking out posts immediately. I highly recommend using the Sola mobile app, which is great and has opened up a lot more options for using the platform. You can definitely use both Steemit and Sola...they do not replace one another by any means - they just both pay you for your time, attention and votes. Post on Steemit, promote on Sola.

Click Here To Get Started with Sola! Thanks for Reading!

Sort:  

Found you! Informed Public left you a comment on Sola ;)

Welcome to Sola! Just endorsed your posts :-)

Thanks for the heads up! I'm definitely gonna check this out a little later :)

Well worth your time, more than I would have thought. It's nice seeing the view count alone.

Cool! Thanks for that, I may need to find a thread on how to use it as I signed up but I'm having trouble navigating the site a bit. If you have any pointers let me know :)

Cool! Thanks for signing up, I think I may have seen your signup and approved your cards already.

Best tip I have is to use the mobile app, not the PC version. Makes it a lot better and is much easier to use. Swipe up to endorse something (don't hold it too long or you'll spend all your AP, swipe quick) and swipe down to skip to the next card. Tap the bottom to pull up the comments. Like Steemit, leaving good comments is a good way to attract people to your cards and earning extra SOL.

Cool, thanks @trending! I'll see if I can find you over there :)

What's your username?

"false freedom" same as here :)

Nice, didn't see you there but I'll keep my eyes peeled!

EDIT: Saw you and upvoted a couple of our posts, welcome aboard!

is it working now and paying ?

Platform works, and SOL is being allocated, but it is not yet able to cash out or withdraw until after the ICO is complete.

when the ico will complete ?

About 7 days from now, not sure how long after that they will pay out the SOL that has been accumulated. Go here for more info on the ICO, etc:

http://sola.foundation

there are also peerity and sphere where you can create content but they don't pay yet and YOYOW the chineese one also don't pay, I hope some of them will start to pay to join them, I am not willing to by such ico, I want just to participate in social network !

You don't need to pay to join SOL. Free to register, you only need to pay if you want to buy into the ICO to get SOL (which provides no direct benefits, just ads on the platform).

I hope they will start paying very soon, I like the website and it's good that we can post now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60946.76
ETH 3395.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57