A week on Steemit has changed my life.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

image.png
7 days ago I opened a Steemit account after listening to Jeff Berwick, Sean of SGT Report and the Dudes at Rogue Money talk positive about the platform for a number of months.
I had no idea that the decision was going to be life changing. For anyone who has read my posts will know I've been awake for a few years however I have never really given an opinion to anyone other than my close circle of family and friends as I have never used any social media platform.
No Facebook, no Twitter, no YouTube, Tumbler, Pinterest...nothing.
I was in voluntary exile from the world of social media and I didn't care, I didn't need or want it.
Yes I used YouTube as an information gathering tool but the thought of using it as a way of getting my message out was never an option for a number of reasons mainly the desire for privacy. And besides their owners have turned into control freaks.

And then I on Monday I posted my first blog and............boom!

Just like that I realised I had a lot of things to say but not only that I cared about the way our world was changing for the worse and wanted to tell people how I felt about that, discuss what we could do about it and to try to wake people up.

For anyone who knows me, the real me not TremendosPercy it would come as a surprise to read my articles and find out I had written them because they don't sound like me, I'm better known for ranting not writing and my written words have surprised even me. I haven't written anything other than standard stuff like letters, cards etc to friends and family that most people would do since I left school in 1983, so as an adult I've never taken the opportunity to express my thoughts using the written word. And frankly it has been liberating and slightly addictive.

The community here on Steemit is amazing and since I first posted on Monday I have'nt encountered a single troll only supportive, friendly, informed, funny and wise people. As you can probably guess from the year I left school I'm getting towards 50 and I've been around a bit so not much surprises me anymore however I've been blown away by the last 7 days as it has made me understand things about myself. I ever realised I was a libertarian and an anarchocapatalist. I realised too I had been bottling things up for a long time as I always seem to have another post in mind.

Whether or not I will keep coming up with stuff to post will remain to be seen so for now I want to sincerely thank everyone who has read, upvoted, commented, followed and replied to anything I've written because collectively you've helped to bring me out of the shadows and it's has changed my life.

TremendosPercy

Sort:  

steemit does seem to have a much more self aware and awake community. You should find some people you resonate with here very quickly!

Sir... you got yourself a new follower!

Cheers buddy, likewise.

following now, its great to have you, i have had an incredible experience here and really hope to see it grow

Isn't it wonderful!
I've opened facebook once all week and immediately closed it out of disgust.

If you were lead here by Jeff Berwick you must be good shit. Followed.

thanks, lots of stuff to come

Following! Because Liberty is awesome!

Liberty is awesome but if we don't fight to keep it they'll steal it back and enslave us all

Welcome aboard @tremendospercy.
I am sure you will fit right in. I'm looking forward to see what you will be posting about.

Thanks, take a look I've posted 20 articles already. Followed

Welcome to the community! I have noticed that Steemit is also allowing me to be more open and to share my thoughts and opinions. It's also nice to take a break from the many trolls found online. I wish you the best, Steem on!

Welcome to this amazing community. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34