You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Steemit Psychology: The Freedom to Give & Magical Imaginary Money

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Very interesting topic and discussion.. On one extreme is what I call "Warcraft gold" - the in-game gold or currency that we spend without thinking. While I usually use it to buy in-game items, I can use it to buy a monthly subscription and save $15 a month. So it's 99% in-game and not real currency.

Steemit currency and Bitcoin are in the middle. I accumulate, and occasionally spend on real world items. It won't pay my electricity bill, but has the potential to pay for clothes and travel in the future.

I think there will be sharp rises and drops in crypto value. I'm less idealistic - I love real world currency, the "system" has been good to me, and who knows where this will all lead.

This stuff reminds me of the BBS era - the beginnings of something bigger. Like the Bob Dylan lyric, "You know something's happening, but you don't know what it is.."

Sort:  

Yes! Exactly! I've managed to avoid LoL and WoW so I can continue having, you know, a life. But I did take interest in Second Life a while back. They had an ingame currency too that my friends were earning quite a bit of by building and designing stuff. I liked that. But yes, Steem is that thing that's happening. A shift in rewards for content creators that I, as a tech journalist, find absolutely exhilarating. I am a techslut. Innovation turns me on. Especially when it shifts our perceptions of things like money and value.

I saw Second Life via friends. WoW is a hobby, but music is my main hobby, so I'm a "light gamer".

I love gadgets too, have a bunch of tablets and music gear at home and in my car. It helps a lot in my career, as I can connect with R&D and Product, which helps me to market their stuff better.

Me too - I was and still am skeptical - but it is too interesting to pass on.

We should totally meet for coffee. :)

Yes, nice to meet another writer! Israeli is such a good place for a tech writer to be. Do you freelance or work at a company?

Freelancing from home at Kfar Saba, the source of magical coffee. Talk to me on Discord / Facebook and we'll schedule some mutual coffee consumption. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31