Unchecked bullying is destroying our platform and crushing the price of Steem!

in #steemit6 years ago

Just wanted to re-post a reply I just made to one of our witnesses.

Thanks for the reply. I truly believe one if not the most significant problems on this website is uncontrolled bullying by a few very large stake holders. The retention rate is dismal, all but the most hardened souls or perhaps completely oblivious can or do stay. And of course those that find a angle to profit are likely to be the last to leave, fighting it out for the last piece of ...

Nothing wrong with profit, except when it is at the full expense of others.

Proof of brain is failing because:

  • Bidbots can bring any article to the top, destroying our reputation by all outsiders.
  • Bulling prevents any constructive feedback. Making sure the status quo is not altered.

If a few larger players do not come together soon

and address these issues, $Steem will go back to its .09 where it started its huge run up.
Huge investments will be lost.

What can be done.

Don't sit by and allow obvious bullying and nefarious collisions to remain. Get a pack and do some down voting or up vote those who get downvoted for simply raising an opinion or questioning the ugly truths.

In other words you whales and dophins, get a "Council" formed that works to inject a little fairness back into the system. A block of even 10 medium stake holders could make a power difference that would certainly catch on to grow to hundreds. Voting could be put in place of some sort, based on 1 vote one (real account).

PEOPLE DON'T SIT BY AN THINK SOMEONE ELSE IS GOING TO FIX STEEMIT ... YOU ARE THE SOMEONE ELSE!

There are many solutions, it is not to late, but it really is time to start.

Image source

Sort:  

I have tried everything but no one pays attention. The downvote power is one of the main problems. I have been fading away here. I think it's useless. But there is always hope...

Hang in there. There are several others that are pretty fed up with the BS downvoting and are looking for a solution to this bullying .. the tide is turning and as Steem drops, these really large players are loosing thousands everyday. BS is powering-down many of his accounts now, possibly to buy back in at $.25 but one way or the other, there are changes in the works.

I have been hanging in for a long time. I hope you're right. I'm sick of being ignored. I was doing a status course here, btw, but got so much bs I moved it to my own blog. Oh well.

But you are free not to follow the BS.
Posts promotet by bidbot is nothing else but "paid advertisement". And if someone spent money to promote his work he should have the right to ban unwanted bots spamming the comments.
The blacklist was a good step in the right direction but flag people who use is definitely abuse of the flag option.

You are a hypocrite, you are downvoting my posts for opting out of your service I never asked for in the first place, you are downvoting my posts at 7 days so they can not be recovered, posts I have not used a bidbot on, I use a bidbot once a week to make sure I have money for the $1 a day charity I contribute to. you run around upvoting your own comments with multiple accounts whilst trying to show everyone the error of their ways, you are taking curation rewards from my voters.
You need to see doctor, or psychiatrist more like.

Taken from my friends who I invested my time in and now they are just as weak as when I first met them. You show lack of insight.

You if you support him show even less insight, taking votes off a 7 day old post of someone like me, that contributes "all" of my earnings on here to charities, is beyond stupid, and if you support that, then I pity you.

Earnings taken from my neighborhood. I hope your charity is happy.

How is it your neighbourhood? I give it to the $1 a day on here that @pennsif runs, it goes worldwide, and your problem is?

That your charity thinks they got money from your talent when it really just was a bribe.

My charity? a bribe? 11% of the sp is all that is in bidbots on this site, and me spending "my own" money on one, is your business why, and I have a stake on here, and bigger than yours, how is this "your neighbourhood" ?

Craig Allen you admit you are downvoting people who didn't use bidbots?

Steemit is the most transparent shit I've ever seen! Everyone is able to follow every single transaction, comment or vote.
Maybe for some people those bidbots are a problem but the most annoying problem is the spamming on posts one spent money to promote them.
If you REALLY think the kind of service is useful (the people see it AFTER they read the posting - not before) you might design a browser-extention for firefox or chrome is exactly your strategy.
You might open the post to check the votes or follow the transaction in the blockchain. Just compare the the link people hit (or found in the html as a link) to your list of perm_links got from transaction and add something like "promoted with $$$xxx) after the link.
So everybody is free in decision to use it or not!
And the people see your information BEFORE they open a link. Not after they read it!

Thats easy stuff - you've done on a weekend.

How will bullying cause steem price to crash? Bidbots may cause steem price to crash as it is easy to promote crap and users may leave seeing that.

When people are bullied or are denied free speech they LEAVE. The retention rate for Steemit is only about 5%

Here you can see what it's like to fight the bot @transparencybot. Its programmer @bycoleman gives it a flag. I just hope everyone's doing business with @bycoleman changes that. revokes his bot from all delegated SP. Defend yourselves and mark all his contributions !

I'm being threatened because I don't want any messages from his bot.

![](

If you fight back then all accounts of @bycoleman come and give you a flag. But he doesn't seem to have much:)

Ok, that wasn't my question. People buy x steem or 0 steem, come to the platform, get bullied, leave, sell x steem or 0 steem. How does that drive the price down?

Also downvoting someoneine in the last 12 hours the worst form of bullying here and i get a sense you do that.

If they come to the platform and do not buy steem, then there are not enough buyers, so the price drops.

The bot selects post based on the oldest in the list of opt-out authors and does NOT wait until they are 6 days or more. This is just how it works out sometimes.

So, I haven't really checked in on whats been going on with you lately @bycoleman / @transparencybot, but I just want you to know that I've just looked through your latest activity and these last few posts, and I'm disappointed with the fact that you downvote people who opt out of your "service". I have been regularly using the #nobidbot tag because I share in your vision for community and quality curation as opposed to runaway bidbot usage. However, your comments on people's posts were not requested, and your flagging of people's work once they opt out of your comments is unnecessary and irresponsible. I admire your projected dedication to integrity and community, but I find your actions hypocritical. I see that you're ending this project, so you may not see this comment or may not care, but I thought I'd leave it anyways. I have yet to decide if I'll be using the #nobidbot tag in the future. All things considered, I still agree with its premise. It's unfortunate to see this petty battle here on Steemit, I don't quite know what else to say. Peace to all parties, and Steem on, I suppose!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87