THE DIARY OF STEEMIANS #1

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

worries4612d.png

“It’s like I’m on eggshells all the time, walking through financial thorns in a bush of recession. Nothing but stress. I get $500 a month from social security. I could get more if I pretend to be bipolar or schizophrenic like some people I know, but they make you take medicine to get your disability benefits. I'm not going to sit around like a zombie to get extra money. When I pay my bills, I have $35 left over. I can feed myself with 59-cent cans of tuna. I tried one of those food pantries but they aren’t even worth the time. I didn’t even know that pints of milk still existed. The bus drivers in the Bronx are cool so they let me ride for free. So that’s good. I can get around. But I can’t afford for anything to go wrong. Some lady is letting me stay in her place for cheap while she lives with her daughter, so I have a place to live. But it’s rent controlled so I’m not even supposed to be there. Every time I go home it’s like four layers of doom. First I’m terrified that my key won’t work. Then I’m terrified that there’s a letter in my mailbox. Then I’m afraid that the elevator won’t work—but that’s just cause I’m a lazy fuck. And then when I finally get to my apartment, I’m afraid there’s a letter under the door. Nothing but stress. I never feel safe. Every time there’s a knock on the door, I think it’s the end. Now I have seen hell and yell, what can I sell.

Damn the American dream! I lived paycheck to paycheck without knowing where my next meal is coming from.

My story comes with a twist as I discovered Steemit, for my life has turned 180 degrees from taking food stamps to feeding the homeless. Now, I believe I can truly be the change I wanna be, for I can live in peace for the least”

~ AnonSteemian

PS: Are you a Steemian with a wonderful story behind your struggles? Reach @touchingLives

@touchingLives ... Humanizing steemit

Sort:  

Congratulations @touchinglives! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.87
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49