Masquerade Festival in My Village (Umuahia in Nigeria).

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Masquerade Festival In My Village

On every 2nd of January, masquerade festival called IKORO is always celebrated in my village in Umuahia in Nigeria. I do not know the main aim of this celebration but the most important fact is that it brings people together as indigenes residing in different parts of the world come back for this.

I went for this celebration with my four nephews, my two cousins and my brother-in law. My nephews were excited and they jumped into car and kept asking questions about masquerades. Though I didn't have sincere answers to the questions because that was my second attendance but I kept them busy with guessed answers.

As we approached the village square (the venue) a masquerade holding a dead fowl, came closer to us. I looked back and saw the children cringe in fear.

'Take us home, take us home', my nephews muttered in fear.

Just then my brother in-law appeased it with money and it let us pass.

Kokoro kokoroko kokoroko... The music for the masquerade dance became louder as we approached further.

At a point we had to use foot to complete our experience and as we walked towards the crowd a masquerade approached from nowhere and scared us with a long cane. I held two of my nephews to run while my two cousins held my other nephews.

'My shoe, aunty my shoe! I can't find my shoes', my nephew kept screaming while we ran.
When everywhere was calm with no masquerade in sight, I went back and found his shoe.

The second masquerade arrived. His mask was an evil face and u was told it wasn't as friendly as the first which allowed people to dance with it.

The festival was graced with fire works.

We heard that the most dangerous one which sleeps in a shrine for three days without eating and comes out with shackles later at night and people will be w warned to take their children back home before its arrival.

I left after an hour with enough memories to hold on to and proud that our traditions are still intact.

Sort:  

thanks for this, you made me remember when i was in villa 😁 😁 😁

You are welcome. I am glad you enjoyed it.☺

Wow! That is such a great experience, I haven't experienced that at all apart from the once I see on TV. Good you had fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67