You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Am I Hurting My Reputation By Doing This? The Message That Made Me Think

in #steemit7 years ago

This steemit thing is so complex, so interesting, though.

Seems like all these rules are in place to make it difficult for people to spam upvote articles. However, I do not mind upvoting lower reputation members. I don't want to discriminate someone simply for being new, if its good content then it deserves my upvote.

Upvoted and followed, thanks

Sort:  

I agree, if it is good content, then I will upvote. Following you also.

What did you discover? Is it true that upvoting someone lowers your rep? That seems false. But I haven't a clue how one would go about finding out the truth.

I don't know the answer. I am hoping someone would.

I think the answer is "no". I did a few minutes of searches, and nothing I read would lead me to believe that upvoting users with lower values will hurt you. The only thing that can hurt you is being downvoted by users with a higher reputation.

your reputation isn't going down by upvoting others. only the voting power does, and it recovers afterwards. also your reputation can only go up if a person with a higher reputation upvotes you. cheers :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75