You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A little power goes a long way

in #steemit7 years ago

I have been thinking about making a post about the morality of helping others to help yourself. I posted the other day about my intention to help those less fortunate than myself by way of the steemit community and it raised the issue of whether I was really doing this for benevolent reasons as I know that by helping others in the way I want to I will feel better about myself.

I am confident that I am not doing it for selfish reasons (although there is still an issue that I am not completely comfortable with!) but this also raised the question of whether or not it even matters.

If I was doing it for selfish reasons would it change the fact that I have helped someone. Whether I am helping them for my own satisfaction or not I will still be helping.

I know this isn't really along the same lines as your post but it brought it back to me and maybe I haven't explained myself as best as I could but I would love to know your thoughts if you have the time Taraz! :)

Another great post Taraz and again I think you are being too hard on yourself my friend! Your commitment to steemit is clear to anyone who follows your work!

Sort:  

Perhaps the only act of helping that is unselfish is the one you don't know you did. As soon as you know, you get a conscious return, even if just a good feeling.

There is likely no unselfish conscious act. Think of a sildier that jumps on a grenade to save his friends. He still has beliefs of why he should. It could be he thinks he'll go to heaven or perhaps he did it because he couldn't live with the shame if he didn't. There is always a return.

Charity is the same. Some people give because they enjoy giving, the reward may be a good feeling. Some give because they want to avoid guilt. Either way, it helps those in need.

Being rewarded for doing good work should be encouraged. The current state of business is being rewarded for maximum gain for the few at the cost of the many.

Do not feel guilty for a return in your charity. The person that gets helped is still grateful for the hand up.

:) I knew you would have some wise words to offer on the subject!

Thank you Taraz!

I steal them all ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67