Why you should buy BAT.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

If you don't know about BAT or Basic Attention Token. You should read up.
BAT is a token that is going to revolutionize the advertising industry ( which is very big btw).

BAT is made by the co-founder of Mozilla and aims to reward users for "consuming" ads.
So instead of all the money that is paid for ads, (by users to promote their posts, or by companies to get sponsored content) going to 1 central place like Facebook or Google. It gets distributed to the users of the Brave browser.

Yesterday BAT released its roadmap for the coming future
https://basicattentiontoken.org/bat-roadmap-1-0.html

And it promises to be a bright one. Initially there was some fuss about the ICO and how 1 person would have a large amount of BAT, but as you can read in the roadmap, they aim to be a non-profit.

This is great news and prevents them from becoming the next Facebook or Google.

So read up on this ethereum based token and who knows, it is still a good time to invest.

Sort:  

To me there are some key difficulties for this project. Like asking people and ad companies to switch. I'd be more interested in the project of their adoption strategy changed or if they announced working with some big marketing companies.

Until then. I hope I'm wrong and I wish you much luck with your investment!

This is an interesting coin! I think the online ad industry will see a lot of change in the next few years, but I'm not 100 % sure that it will be because of BAT. However, we will see how this all plays out :)

Can you explain the purpose of BAT? I mean, I understand the philosophy and purpose of the project but I don't understand what the purpose of the coin is. Is this project Proof of Stake? Does this mean the ad revenue is distributed as BAT among the BAT holders?

The Brave browser will implement the BAT Wallet soon. this will store the BAT you earn or purchase. The amount of BAT you can earn is based on BAM or Basic Attention Metric, it provides insight in to how and when and for how long a person was exposed to the ad. Also publishers (websites) can offer a ad free experience for which they can be rewarded by their users though BAT.

I tucked away some BAT in my ETH wallet lets see what comes of those BATs in a year!

This seems like a really great concept. Thank you for sharing, too bad I missed the ICO though! I will definitely keep my eye on it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57237.65
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34