You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Open Letter To The Developers Of Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I had no idea what problem you were addressing in this post (i.e. content hijacking) until nearly the end of the post. Could you be more clear about it at the top of the post so readers don't think some other "critical issue" you posted on Github is itself the source of you frustration here? Thanks. And by the way, I think you're totally right about the "content hijacking". I seriously doubt it's done maliciously, but there's no reason it should be happening and more care should be taken to avoid it.

Sort:  

@tombstone The issue is the discussion hijacking at this point.

I started a discussion about a simple change to restore longterm payouts for content.
I sought feedback, got quite a bit of feedback encouraging me to move the discussion off stan's blog and onto github. I moved it to github as asked and sent tons of traffic to the issue, then the issue was closed and it moved to a developer's personal blog. Which is my gripe. One time it would just be an oversight, but I'm seeing a pattern here and asking them to please stop doing that and instead ask people who do open issues like that to take it to the originator's blog.

Thanks for the feedback though. I'll try to reword the post, to raise the profile of the original issue as well.

Just as a suggestion, perhaps it would help to first start your own separate steemit post in order to discuss and gauge interest in an issue (rather than doing it in the comments of a post on an unrelated topic) before moving it to github. Then in github you can refer to your steemit post, which can a) serve as a reference for the github discussion, and b) would also prompt the dev to join the existing discussion on your steemit post if he thinks that is a more appropriate venue than github.

@tombstone
Thanks for the feedback. It's appreciated.

Initially I considered doing as you suggest.
But I decided it would feel more sincere if opened as a standalone issue.

I was trying to avoid using GitHub as whale bait for my own blog. The issue extends far beyond me personally.

However, you'll notice that my suggestion for improvement, was that if core feels some aspect of an open issue might be worth the time and effort of making a blog themselves. That perhaps in lieu of closing the issue and moving commentary to their own blog. They should encourage the person who opened the issue, to make a blog posting instead, whilst leaving the issue open for reference.

Once the user does this, then they should actually visit said persons blog, to keep tabs on the debate.

This way the issue will be a sincere issue and we won't have issues being used as whale bait, for personal blogs, but core can jump in and voice their thoughts, feelings and ideas without generating a ton of GitHub traffic either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56747.23
ETH 3007.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19