Steem is doomed! (A call for down voting!)

in #steemit7 years ago

In it's current model of paying out for creating content and upvoting Steemit is quickly being overrun by all the greedy peoples of the world.

In my short time here, I have come to find that too members of this community are posting for the sole sake of getting up-votes , eventually to make some money out of it.

I have also noticed that I am not immune to this desire for income. I find myself focusing more on obtaining SBD and less on adding quality content and engaging in worthwhile comments.

It may be altruistic to think this but Steemit should be about sharing some useful information with the world, whether you get reward or not.

This is why I think Steemit should add Downvoting.

Upvotes add to the payout of a post and downvotes would subtract from this payout.

It would be a way to police illegal content as well as discourage plagarism and spam.

Unfortunately money is a big addiction for almost every one of us. It is a major driving force behind everything we do, but it is important to remember that in the pursuit of money many people forget to enjoy life along the way.

If people join Steemit and blog just for the money they are missing out on so much available here on Steemit! And as I have admitted, I like the money too -- but I have been trying to focus on the people from all over the world and learn and experience the many different cultures represented here.

That's my $0.02. Thanks for reading.
@todderic

Are you new to Steemit?


You are putting a lot of effort into writing but your rewards are probably still small.

You should seriously consider commenting!

Steemit does not differentiate if you have written a story or made a comment. So, if the readers of this story upvote your comment you get rewarded in Steem Dollars and Steem Power too - just like on your stories!

ALSO - Did you know you can make Steem Power through upvoting?

Now ... UPVOTE this story, add a COMMENT and I will upvote YOUR comment! ✌(◕.-)✌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64256.72
ETH 2794.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65