3 Things I wish some people knew before joining steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

steemit

The question I had always asked myself is wether steemit is really for everybody?

Will every @steemians achieve the success they desire from Steemit?

While it's very easy for anyone to get overly excited by the steemit ideology. Which is; “blog, upvote and earn”. It's also very possible that not everyone will achieve that which they desire from the platform.



My brief story

I was intrigued after I came across this “video ads” telling me how I can make money simple by creating a blog post, upvoting and commenting on other people's post on Steemit. How simple is that?

Though this "Video ads" was shared by a trusted friend, I still had to do my due diligence to figure out how Steemit actually works.

After that, I came to a realization that Steemit is an opportunity I had been craving for a long time, I have always wanted to own a personal blog site. Never did because of lack of capital to purchase a domain name and pay for the hosting of the site. Steemit offered me this privilege without paying a dime.

At the beginning, many things were not clear to me. Just like every other newbie, my ambition was how to make a thousand dollar at the first week of my blogging. It's not a bad thing for one to set a high target, you might say. But have I really achieved my target? Not yet but certainly will!

I will be sharing with my fellow steemians, the 3 things I wish some people knew before joining Steemit;

CAUTION: The views expressed in this post should not be taken as a professional advice, but rather a personal opinion.



(1). steemit is not a get rich quick scheme

It's very easy to be carried away by the huge sum earned under the trending and hot post category of Steemit. But what most newbie failed to understand is that the people earning such figure had taken time to build a sound reputation for themselves in the system.

As a minnow earning some few dollars and some cent on Steemit, you might easily get discouraged and possible nurse the urge to quit, especially when your post are not being noticed.

So what do you have to do as a minnow on Steemit?

(a). Take time to build good connections with others in the system, not just the whales alone, but also those who are very good at what they do.

(b). build a reputation for yourself by creating quality blog post. Furthermore, make a reasonable comments on other people post, and make sure you read the whole post before making a comment. don't just spam every post with unreasonable comments just to get upvote.

(c). Create or join a group of like-minded people whose goals are to make impact an on Steemit.



(2). keep learning while you earn

After joining Steemit, some might come to a definite conclusion, that Steemit it's only about creating, commenting and upvoting our blog post. I thought the same way too. But later, it became very clear to me that there is equally a great vision behind Steemit that will revolutionize the way we socialize and communicate and also earn by doing that.

With that being said, it's advisable for every aspiring Steemit user to deeply set out to learn all there is to know about steemit and the steem blockchain, And possibly build up and grow with the community.




(3). Steemit is Not all about the money

Yes you heard me right! Steemit is not all about the money. If your sole aim of joining Steemit is to become an over-night millionaire and therefore migrate to other thing else. you might as well stick to your Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.

Not that you won't make such huge sum from Steemit. But money shouldn't be the only motivation.

The reason why most people get discouraged and depressed When they can't meet up with their target on Steemit is clearly because they focused solely on the earning, not the impact they would make.

So the best thing is to treat steemit as a job. you might agree with me that it's only when you are passionate about what you do, that you don't get discouraged or easily give up on such.

Steemit has offered us the opportunity to Blog freely and also earn by doing that. So steemians should not totally be concern about the money, but how they can use it to educate and share their experience with others.


IMAGE SOURCE


Thanks to ned Scot @ned and Dan larimar @dan for this wonderful opportunity.

Incase you missed them

An African child
Causative Agents of birth defects
Death the Painful reality
The breach of moral norms in our today's society


thanks for reading

Sort:  

So well said. I have been on Steemit for about two weeks and definitely still need to work on the networking and getting my name out and know that this is going to take some time and won't happen overnight! I appreciate your insight.

You will definitely get there dear, it takes dedication and hard work.

Yes ma'am and as I work the time management in my day I am finding more time to get on here and interact! :)

I've been at the steemit for six days, things are going really well, but I've realized a several things you cite in your topics, some disappointing but most exciting.

Alright, thanks for stopping by

The dream of fast money - I had to smile, because to be honest, I dreamed it too.
But you thoughts are right, as everywhere else only effort will have an impact. I understand steemit as a great platform to share my thoughts and to be inspired by other people. For example all the art competitions here inspired me to take up painting. And this has value (for me) in itself.
(but nevertheless, it can't hurt, if we all earn some millions on steemit :-D)
Thanks for your inside

Thanks for this. I've been on steemit for a while now without even a single post. Each day I dunno what to write about. At first I when I heard about steemit I was swayed by the massive income but since I started taking my time o navigate through the platform I came to a realization that it's all a different ball game than I anticipated. Maybe someday I will tell my story.

@emilyearl you will definitely have a good story to tell. just Remain steadfast and focused. Steemit will reward you for your positive impact.

Great thoughts! I would add: we should try to learn new things also. For me, this is one of the greatest things Steemit is offering me! I've been learning and connecting with different people from everwhere and it's really motivating, makes me share my own experience so others can learn with me also. Resteemed!

Yes dear, there are many great minds on Steemit. Getting in contact with most of them has been very helpful and uplifting.

thanks for sharing keep it up

Indeed same here, earning is a good extra. Just improving my writing while earning a bit XD.

Thanks for your thoughts to aid the freshly minted Minnows.

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51