You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit as a non-profit platform

in #steemit8 years ago

Great idea, I just up-voted your post. However I have one minor concern...

Revenue would also be generated by direct advertising. As I understood it, companies would be able to post related content that would be displayed at the end of user created posts.

I understand how that might be attractive for profit reasons. However, one of the awesome and unique things that makes steemit great in my opinion, is the absence of all the advertisements and nonsense. I certainly wouldn't want some Doritos ad on the bottom of a blog post I wrote about GMO's for example. Would content creators have the right to not accept these direct adverts on the bottom of our blog posts? I know we could "flag" the ad if it was in the comment field of our post, but if any big time company comes on here, my tiny SP power won't be able to remove a post from a big time advertiser with lots of capitol they could use to buy steem power. Thoughts?

Sort:  

I dont think it's necessarily an ad. Just listed as a "related post" assuming it relates to something you posted. It would mean the Advertiser would need to create the post and you as a user would have the option to click on the post as if it was a post from any other user - and it would only show up if it was related to the topic of the post you are reading.

An example. You are reading a post from a user that is related to Bitcoin. At the bottom of the post would be a list of posts that relates to Bitcoin including any advertiser posts that relate to Bitcoin.

That is my assumption

Okay, that does seem reasonable. Thank you so much for getting back to me! Have a nice day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51