False Flagging - Need a down vote button - Stop Censorship

in #steemit8 years ago

Not every post / blog / reply on an article I write on this new social media platform steemit is going to be blowing smoke up your butts for creating something new. Occasionally I am going to write something that is going to piss people off, however is not "abusive" of the platform or freedom of speech. There seems to be a serious problem on this "steemit" platform for those who feel different than others who have more "steem power" than them. I call it one vote censorship. Why should one flag by anyone on any post or blog remove all the media from the post, when the post they are flagging is not violating anything? I have down flags on many replies not because my content is violating anything or abusive, but because people are thin skinned and can't take criticism, that is legit? That is the type of platform we are building here?

There needs to be a down vote button that is not "flagging" the post. People on here seem to think that "flagging" is the same thing as down-voting and it isn't. Flagging on here removes and censors the content of what that person said, like images or other content in the post. If a "whale" decides they don't like something a "minnow" says they can easily flag their content with one vote and remove it. That is crazy. There needs to be some sort of down vote for stuff you don't like that doesn't censor the content. If I wrote a scathing blog post about a person with massive financial wealth, they could easily buy a bunch of steem power and just with one vote remove my blog post criticizing them. Is that the type of platform we really want?

Flagging content should be reserved for stuff that violates the terms and services, and / or is illegal, stuff like spam. Flagging peoples replies because you don't like them is so thin skinned and predictable it hurts. I have already experienced it on this platform because I disagree with someone. This is ludicrous. Seriously are we already allowing the building of safe spaces on a new media platform? You got block / mute buttons, you got flagging which removes their content. Is this "steemit" platform to make money and hide in your safe spaces or to allow freedom of speech and end the censorship we have seen across every other social media platform?

I propose adding a down vote button, that way people can get their down vote in without flagging the content. The flagging of content should be handled the way it is on platforms like twitter, where there is a review process associated with it and a claim of terms of service abuse must be accompanied with it. Unpopular opinions are not supposed to be censored, they should be heard but down-voted. Allowing them to be flagged and removed the way this system is set up now is stifling freedom of speech and creating typical safe spaces.

Sort:  

I wish I would have found your post before it was already two days old! ...Not that a minnow such as myself could have upvoted and added any steem value to your article anyways. :-P

You hit the nail on the head, my friend. Flagging NEEDS to be about what is truly illegal or against terms of service - and (again) I agree that anything allegedly flagged must then be checked by a real person before penalties or censorship occurs.

This IS a touchy issue, and the best solution I see is accountability in the maximum. If certain users are flagging things they disagree with - it should EASILY be accessible to see such by viewing that person's profile. If there is a False-Flag-Monster on the loose, it needs to be seen and addressed as soon as possible (in the best cases: by the community itself and NOT moderation).

In fact (IMHO), there needs to be more power for the community itself to determine what is of value and quality - rather than a single user determining what is or isn't... However, I get it - insomuch that the biggest contributors of value and quality should have more sway than those who are just watching on the sidelines... but, right now, it often seems like a good ol' boys club where "quality" is determined by a secret handshake and a nod of unspoken approval... And, if I wanted to participate in something like that, all I need to do is run for office in the United States of America... :-|

Great reply, I couldn't have said it better myself. It is a touchy subject, but I thought it needed to be addressed after my reputation went from a 61 to a 49 because I disagreed with a feminist in her "trending article" which amounted to a bunch of unsubstantiated whining. However because I am a "minnow" and she was a "whale" with many "whales" following her, I got "flagged" for disagreeing with her and my rep on here took a major hit for merely speaking my mind.

What really pissed me off, is one of those who "flagged" me to censor my opinions, was the guy who created the "Anonymous" account on here which, is absolutely ludicrous as "anonymous" is supposed to be against censorship. Guy is a fake and should not be allowed to associate with Anonymous in any way shape or form. Using his paid for steem power to censor anyone who spoke against this feminists article and flag everyone. He is what you describe as a false flag monster. The "Anonymous" user's actions on this steemit platform could not be further away from what "Anonymous" stands for and the ideology of why I am "Anonymous" which is to stand up for everyone's right to freedom of speech, even those I disagree with. I am contacting others who associate with Anonymous about this individual.

Despite more people upvoting my reply to her article. So 3 "whales" flagged me and 5 others upvoted the reply but because the "whales" disagreed the reply was censored, images removed and my reputation took a hit that I still haven't recovered from despite many upvotes since. 100% ridiculous. The feminists already are using censorship tactics on new platform because they can't win an argument.

Totally agree - i got flagged for a post and it didnt violate anything - just someone didnt like it and flaggged it! - a downvote button should be added

that's what the flag is for... (a downvote button would do the same actually), if you look at the votes, the upvote shows as a "+" the flagging as a "-" that's exactly what you are asking for.
The sense you want to give to what you flag is up to you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54