You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I just signed up but did NOT receive $10 worth of Steem Power

in #steemit8 years ago

You are correct, but here is what will happen.

  • The loyal fans will defend the project like their lives depend on it.
  • Excuses will be made, numbers change, prices fluctuate, bla bla bla.
  • Someone will tell you, "look at the title, it's in beta"
  • No official response will be posted and any suggestion to fix it will be ignored, because the user experience is not a priority.
  • People will call you names and attack you for pointing this out, turning you into the problem, not the broken or incorrect information that is shown to the users.

This is the unfortunate pattern I have noticed.

Sort:  

Yepp, that sums it up pretty well so far. ;)
I have to admit, I did not expect that much of hostility because of that.
And I did hope for at least some kind of support/developer acknowledgement that the issue is known or will be fixed or something like that.

Yes, it is disappointing.
These practices and fanboys have ruined the value of their past 2 projects, and the sad thing is they don't even understand how many people it drives away.
The only thing that could help is more posts like yours that explain the new user experience. Maybe, at some point, they will read enough of them to get it.

You could say that but I beg to differ. @dantheman has been on top of stuff as much as he could and I also think the entire community is just sick and tired or rants, complaints and wining in general. At a first look this is what the post says even though you realize it's a good point once you go through it and read the comments as well.
All in all, haven't we all lost more than 4$ in time, power and all, by looking at this post/your comment? What good has it done? Why go deeper into the issue than try to contribute with something that's really helping everyone around here?

How can you beg to differ with my comment you replied too? @dantheman might have been on top of stuff as much as he could, I don't know because I just signed up, so I don't know who is support/developer here and how good or bad they work. But I didn't see any reply to my post of support or a developer. So why are you bringing @dantheman up if he wasn't even part of the conversation?

Maybe the community is sick and tired of rants, complaints and whining... I did neither of that, I thought I noticed a bug/issue and I wanted to let the support/developers know about it and explain why I think it's an issue.
You want to really help everyone around here? Well then try to make people aware of the fact that they should read, think and understand a post first, before they start commenting on it! Especially if they do so in a hostile way! Everyone can have a different opinion and can or even should express this opinion, but hostile attacks because they "think in their head" that is complaining or ranting (even though that someone mentions several times "I am not complaining") is a whole other story. I thought steamit.com is all about great content and great comments. Well guess what, great comments can only be written if people first bother to read a post and think before they start commenting! And now you criticise ME for trying to set the record straight?! I should get over it, and stop responding to people who don't get the point, make false accusations and clearly don't bother with the actual meaning of a post when they respond to it? That is your "secret sauce" for making steemit.com a place for great content and great comments...well now I BEG TO DIFFER!

If you think it is a waste of time reading my post and comments, then don't read them!
You think it is a waste of time to:

  • Point out that something isn't working like "advertised".
  • Explain why that it isn't a good thing or why it should be fixed.
  • Put an afford in making clear that it is no baseless "whine&complain" post.
  • Point out that a Support-Form and/or Contact-Form link should be present (like it is on every other website on the web and which is something "mainstream" internet user expect!)
  • Correct and criticise people for their comments, which refer to "things in their heads" but not to the content of my post, and/or useless dumb smartass comments like "it's free money, if you don't like it leave!"?
    Well like I said, if you think this is a waste of time, don't read and don't respond to it.

And if you think pointing those things out and responding appropriately isn't "contributing" to the overall quality of how people behave on here ..well I don't even know how to respond to such a statement. I guess you are right, if people get bashed for things they didn't even say nor clearly meant, it is the best for the community if they just shut up about it and move along. Why try to make people read and think first, before they reply to a topic, it's a waste of time..there is money to make with writing, commenting and posting somewhere else..

@traderjoe, my reply was for @tinfoilfedora not for your comment (check the nesting alignment).
This comment though is for you, @traderjoe, and I will keep this one very short:

  • read around and see who @dantheman is and then you'll see why I brought him up in the discussion.
  • As from my previous comments below I have put in some effort to get this advertised around. Talk about reading people's posts and comments...
  • I never said you did complain or rant but you're starting to.
  • I know you're new and all, but your first post is really about something negative? If you ever want to be on that trending page you really need to do more than this.

PS. I tried to keep the negativity out of my comments but it's not working. Before you beg to differ you should have first spent some time reading around. Posts that have good information for beginners, watch interviews with the founders and other talks, understand how Steemit works and what is it's purpose long term. That way I shouldn't have had to tell you about the support address ;)

Ok, my bad.
Didn't notice the nesting alignment.
Sorry for that!
Well, i would have had all right to rant/complain..if you want to call it like that (I don't), if that reply was meant for me and not @tinfoilfedora.
But it wasn't meant for me so some things I wrote might don't apply anymore.

But this reply is now for you @anduweb and I will also try to keep it short:

  • The @dantheman comment was meant for @tinfoilfedora, but I guess he is somehow involved with support and development questions. I will look into that, when I have a chance.
  • I did read that you brought up that issue in the chat. And thanked you for that! So I read your posts and understood them pretty well before I replied to them. Even the one for @tinfoilfedora, which would have been a valid response IF it had have been for me ;). And I acknowledged that I mistakenly thought this respond was meant for me.

But it is really not much of a nesting-difference, so it is easily to miss, and can not be compared to "not bother really reading and thinking of the meaning of a post before replying to it".

  • Why has a first post to be about something positive? (A rhetorical question! I don't think there is a written or unwritten rule for that, and if there would be one, I think it should be broken.)
  • My first post was constructive critique, which is, in my point of view, a good thing and should be encouraged in general.
  • It was never my intention to be on the trending page! I didn't even plan on posting anything (or much) at all. I'm more of a reader and voter, not a poster.
  • Btw I don't think the main reason for posting on steemit.com should be "to get on the trending page. That is like writing and crafting blog posts for being on the top of google search results and not because they content something you really wanted to say but instead for maximizing monetization. And that's the reason "Clickbait" came to existence. Maybe soon we will have something like "TrendBait" which could be similar bad/annoying. Well that's just my opinion.

PS:
I don't think that it should be mandatory to first start a in depth search for a support email that might be hidden away in some post somewhere (especially if there are two but one is not valid anymore). Steemit.com wants to become a mainstream thing, right? And attracting Millions or 100s of Million users, then pointing out missing things that mainstream website have (like a simple support-link in the footer of the frontpage) should have reactions like "OH Damn how could we forget that?!" And not "Spent first a few hours reading every post with the "steemit" tag till you find the "one time mentioned" support-email, before you post something negative" ..

And what has "Know how Steemit works and it's purpose long term" to do with a "support-email" or "support-link"? That' is also a rhetorical question, how Steemit works or it's purpose long term has no relations whatsoever with the content of my OP or my replies to the comments. (Except certain things that will be expected of Steemit if it wants to attract the average internet user and become a mainstream thing, which I addressed correctly).

Btw: I'm still not ranting, whining or complaining. I made a valid, reasonable post about something and reply with appropriate responses to the comments to this post.

Comments nesting goes as down as 6 replies so I hope you'll see this one
I really don't want to continue the conversation as we're going in circles. Steemit is still at the beginning so yes, there are many processes unfinished, not fine-tuned etc. It's up to the community to help and support the development and its not easy.
Comments such as yours are not constructive in my pov and we should all be focusing on other stuff that really add value around here. The end on my side.

Anduweb.
New users pointing out that incorrect information was presented to them, is a valid complaint.
Nice subtle dig, stating my comment was a waste of time and money...

What good has it done? Well, just like this posters intention, it brought a real problem to the surface to talk about. The team is not fixing user facing issues that involve money. they don't respond to them or seem to care much, and fanboys just make excuses and cover for them, while attacking people who take the time and effort to point problems out.
This is the exact opposite of how a successful internet presence should operate.

  • Bugs, problems, and usability issues should be responded to politely, by staff, with a thank you.
  • The goal should be an easy to understand interface, that is clearly explained in a help file.
  • Any display of money should be PERFECT. Anything less is pure lazyness and negligence. It is simple math, the one thing on the planet that can be displayed PERFECTLY if they choose to.
  • No one should be attacked like this for taking the time to write up a problem.

Instead of attacking the messenger, why don't you "quit your complaining" and "try to contribute" by showing the user how to actually get the problem in front of the developers? Or by filing a report on it yourself? Or by explaining to dan that this is actually important?

Your rabid fanboy defense is actually worse than complaining. It is encouraging the bad software practices, bad PR due to incorrect info, and bad user behavior (yours, for attacking a newbie), to continue on this website.

@tinfoilfedora. I am directly offended by your comment as you're wrongfully accusing me. You clearly didn't read my comments on this post to see that I actually contributed with what is currently possible to bring this message further. I even gave advice to the OP on how to reach out to the devs directly and report this if he wanted to.
I don't have access directly to dan or any dev. They ware way too busy with more important stuff than the 4$ diference on the users sign up that should be given out for free. This project is still in beta. Read what beta means before mentioning errors and issues claims. It'll get that, just not this very instant. Will you guys get that already? You'll not progress unless you do.

Offended!
If you are offended by clearly explained software development practices, maybe you shouldn't be defending software developers you don't even know, that have released a product that confuses new users and displays deceptive and incorrect values everywhere. (The one thing they could do perfectly, out to .0000001 if they chose to.)

Then you fall back on "it's in beta", "it's not important to be correct", and "I'm offended". Thank you for demonstrating that you are exactly the rabid fanboy I was speaking about. At least the "complainers" bring up a topic that could be fixed. Your comments actually hinder progress. You do more harm than the "complainers".

you my friend are a troll and that sums up the discussion level.
Keep calling me a rabid fanboy. At least i tried to do something to help here and not just comment on the side of my insecurities and conspiration theories like you did. Keep it up, see where you get.

You attacked a newbie for writing up his first experience... You got "offended", sensitive about your "insecurities", and brought up conspiracy for some reason, during a discussion about website problems. If anyone is trolling it is you.

Like I said, if you are offended by a discussion about normal software development procedures, and defend problems that could easily be fixed, you are the one with the problem.

You're nuts man. Read the freaking comments and the order in which they were posted. I never attacked the guy for posting this, I actually said he has a valid point and that I even took it myself to bring it up in the steemit.chat t other people that might get it higher and noticed. Jesus!

I did though begged to differ with your way of seeing how things go around here and I still do have a problem with what you wrote on your first comment that started this nonsense. You seem to believe everyone is getting ignored over here like it's a conspiracy (yes, I said conspiracy) of the big guys to trick the small guys and the newcomers.
Tell me where the discussion is about website problems in your first comment? You complain over a flow that doesn't exist for really important issues. See the way the devs reacted to the hack issue, to the bots issue, to the catfish issue, and the list can go on. What you said is nonsense. I'm not wasting anymore time on this.

For the last time: I don't have a problem with what @traderjoe wrote in the post. It's a reality that will get resolved sooner or later. I said patience is needed because yes, beta actually means beta and it's not just an excuse. Then the whole thing escalated like crazy with your comments and starting to call me names and crap. I'm not wasting anymore time on this.
I also tried giving advice about getting it onward and not staying fixed on this as it's not worth the 4 bucks of a difference. I was once in the same place dissatisfied by the system but got on with it and the result paid off in the end.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60748.61
ETH 2912.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36