You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 6 Mistakes Minnows (New Steemit Users) Make

in #steemit7 years ago

Quality advice, especially on the followers and comments front.

I've actually considered a post asking "Why the F are you following me?" Sure I'd love to have 10,000 followers, but if only 10 of them read my blog, 4 of them upvote, and 1 routinely comments, then what's the point?

What I'd like to do is get more "quality" followers. Developing an audience that reads what I write (and Steemit is a pretty full time gig for me) has been a little bit of a challenge because I only occasionally write about crypto.

Sort:  

LOL, I have noticed that too! I tried posting a couple of non crypto blogs and got almost no views. Hopefully that will change over time as more people join Steemit.

You know though, there is a physiological problem with that. If I see someone like myself with a few followers I'm less likely to look through the posts and/or follow. Kinda playing on crowd wisdom, to assume if alot of people follow it must be good, silly I know.

Yup...it's the minnows chasing the allusive curation reward. In reality, minnows are wasting their time.

Yeah! I am new on here and went nuts yesterday following people. I was just feeling a bit lonely, and was hoping someone would even read some of my stuff. I don't have high expectations of making a lot on here. I have come to accept that, from past experiences, it's hard to promote your own work, so I now enjoy reading and checking out other people's work.

Interesting perspective ... the Lemming mentality ... if 10,000 people are following this guy off a cliff there must be something interesting down there.

Went to follow you. Was already following you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01