TURNING YOUR STEEM DOLLARS INTO BITCOINS

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

SUP GUYS

So I'm pretty psyched, I've just made my first amount of Bitcoin (BTC) by transferring my Steem Dollars (SD).

FUCK YEAH!

I'm moving at the moment so it's definitely a highlight in what will be a long week of reminiscing and dust. Despite being so busy I'm still finding ample time to keep myself addicted to Steemit and stay up to date with all you crazy mofos.

It's exciting, with half a dozen posts that I enjoyed writing I've made some money plus I'm moving so it's really helped me out a shit load. But I had some trouble working out how to actually turn my SD into Steem and then into BTC without having to power down and touch my Steem Power.

This would be simple for long time users and crypto enthusiasts but for us newbies that have have come from a social media/blogging background it can be quite confusing.

I used https://bittrex.com/ to get my BTC so I will base my presentation around that.

1. Go to your wallet on Steemit

Go to your wallet and click on the arrow next to your Steem Dollars, press the Buy or Sell button. This will take you directly to Steemit's internal market where you can sell or buy Steem for SD. You have the option of buying it instantly through paying the asked price (see picture below) or you can wait and place an order based on what you think the price may be at some point. Type in the number of Steem you want to buy or how much SD you want to sell and click BUY STEEM, it will soon appear in your wallet.

2. Go to https://bittrex.com/ and make an account

Once you've made an account you need to click the B on the top right of your screen and then type Steem into the search bar.

After it pops up click the + button to bring up information you will need when transferring your Steem across to Bittrex. It should look like this:

3. Head back to Steemit so you can transfer to Bittrex

Go back to your wallet on Steemit and click the arrow next to Steem, press Transfer. Enter your own details from the deposit screen on Bittrex as I have below:

Wait a little bit and soon enough it will be in your Bittrex account :)

4. Buy BTC

Go to Bittrex and make your way to the wallet once again and click on STEEM, scroll down and you will see buy and sell options just like the market on Steemit so follow a similar logic as before. Go to the selling side, you can find out the ask price easily by following the picture below or alternatively you can make a bid based on what you think the price will be.

Once you're ready press Sell STEEM and you will soon find Bitcoins in your wallet :)

KEEP ON DREAMIN & STEEMIN

PEACE!

Sort:  

How do you transfer to dollars?

You will need to use a site that allows you to sell your BTC for USD. Here is one I recommend: https://www.coinbase.com

Can you please guide or please redirect to any article which explains how to transfer Steem Dollors into BTC using Coinbase only. Every article I find here talks about Bittrex and am a bit lost here.

Just go to BlockTrades.us. You can enter your coinbase BTC addresses and it will generate an address/memo to send your SBD.

Btw, using ETH instead of BTC has lower fees.

Thank you so much. I ll do that. btw.. what is ETH? gulp.. sorry for asking a lot of questions @timcliff .

This deserves more upvotes honestly. Voted

Hope this helped guys!

I agree. Just added my upvote.

Thanks for posting this guide. I hope you don't mind me posting a link to my related guide How to invest in Steemit.com through the purchase of Steem or Steem Power - In 10 Easy Steps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55