Surfing in July @ Siargao, #philippines

in #steemit7 years ago

Screen Shot 2017-08-21 at 1.04.15 PM.png
Siargao's Sugba Island

My country, the #philippines, is a tropical country spread over 7000 islands.
I only managed to visit a few.
On top of the list is #siargao, the country's surfing capital.

Local and foreign visitors usually flock #siargao during summer
(from late March until early June).
I was rather occupied with tons of work last summer,
which is why, I, along with a few friends, decided to book a visit by mid-July,
just right after all the summer parties and surfing competitions ended.

Screen Shot 2017-08-21 at 1.37.39 PM.png
Perks of going off-season: A calm and peaceful airport

It was ideal.
More than getting my party groove on,
all I really wanted was just a peaceful break from the demands of work.
#siargao did not disappoint
and our timing was perfect!

Unlike Boracay and Panglao , Bohol (two other party islands that I visited a year back)
Siargao is exceptional since it only promotes local brands: NO 7/11, NO McDonalds, NO Malls!

Screen Shot 2017-08-21 at 1.19.10 PM.png
#siargao goes local

Screen Shot 2017-08-21 at 1.23.15 PM.png
Famous #Siargao Shaka Healthy Shakes

Screen Shot 2017-08-21 at 1.29.42 PM.png
Still @ Shaka

This is admirable considering the influx of foreign and local visitors all year round.
When I asked a local, she told me that it's Siargao's way of preserving
local industries and ensuring that Siargao's brand is unique. Amen to that!

Screen Shot 2017-08-21 at 1.22.39 PM.png
But at a price: A rather costly local french patisserie

Siargao offers instead a wide variety of gourmet and world-class brands
in accommodations, food, and leisure.
Foreign investors usually invest on these brands,
which is why goods and services are usually priced based on foreign visitors spending.
Meals in local restaurants are priced at 200-300 pesos.
I usually spend just 50 pesos per meal on regular days.
This means nothing is cheap in Siargao for a Pinoy like me.

Screen Shot 2017-08-21 at 1.18.13 PM.png
A Pricey Stop: Kermit's Siargao

Screen Shot 2017-08-21 at 1.34.49 PM.png
Also Costly but worthy: Bravo Resto

What wasn't costly, however,
and what turned out to be the highlight of my visit,
was our island-hopping tour.
At 2000 pesos (shared among 4 people), we get to enjoy a day's tour to the islets surrounding Siargao.

Screen Shot 2017-08-21 at 1.33.16 PM.png
Day 1 Island Hopping: Off to Sugba Island

Screen Shot 2017-08-21 at 1.09.37 PM.png
Day 2 Island Hopping: To Virgin Islands

It was such a refresher, a breath of fresh air for me.
I get to interact with the locals and eat fresh seafood and coconut.

Siargao's sugba island was extraordinarily naturesque:
a small islet lodged in the middle of a grand lake enclave.
Other islets had virgin shores and fresh seafood.
Throughout the tour, I just snorkelled, ate, and sun bathed!
It was a perfect day!

Screen Shot 2017-08-21 at 1.11.36 PM.png
Food by the sea

Lastly, a visitor of Siargao should go Surfing.
What else would the name "surfing capital of the philippines" mean if you don't surf there?
But I was an exception!
Surfing would cost me 600 pesos ( I was already running out of budget)
and I was not really looking forward to some sort of adrenaline rush during this break.
As I said, I only wanted rest.

Screen Shot 2017-08-21 at 1.13.31 PM.png
Siargao's Cloud Nine: where surfing happens

Screen Shot 2017-08-21 at 1.21.05 PM.png
"I just watched"- this still haunts me!

But this, apparently, I regret doing: I should have surfed!
It was fun and exciting, I was told.
This is reason enough to return
And that I will!

See you soonest in Siargao!

Screen Shot 2017-08-21 at 1.19.46 PM.png
too cozy =)

_kristian

Sort:  

You are doing awesome!

thank you @surpassinggoogle this is my simple way of contributing to the steemit community. By sharing my experiences in the best way I can. I'm enjoying so much my first 2 days in #steemit

Wow this great! Keep it up, xtian! 😉

thanks @purepinay. Wish you the best too. Hope your grandma will be fine very soon.

Siargao's Sugba Island Great bro
Philliness is the best place and thanks for sharing your wounder

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64377.96
ETH 3500.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52